Field Grade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I used sausage in this and added a little Italian seasoning. This was really good and smelled fabulous while simmering away. I used this in the recipe on this site for "Grandma's Sour Cream Lasagna". It was a huge hit with our guests. This is a keeper, thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made this just as it is written for a family gathering - it was a hit! Great flavor - easy to make - I will for sure hang on to this one - Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great recipe for spaghetti sauce. I liked the flavors of cinammon, allspice (subbed ground clove, nutmeg and ginger). We used sweet Italian turkey sausage with the casing removed and browned and crumbled this. We also added a bit of brown sugar to take some of the acidity out of the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I really enjoyed this sauce. We had it tonight with the "Italian Bread Using a Bread Machine" off this site, made into cheese garlic bread. Like another review I read, I think this would make a dynamite lasagna sauce. I found it a bit runnier than I am used to with meat sauces, but it's probably my own fault, as I didn't have crushed tomatoes, so I subbed 2 cans of diced that I pulsed in the food processor. I also added beef broth in place of the wine, as the only wine I have in the house is a bit spendy and I think hubby would have cried. I'll add another can of tomato paste next time for more tomato flavor, but otherwise really good. I froze the extra and I'm sure it'll be even better when I thaw it to use again. Thanks for a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Tried this last night. I had to make a few changes because I didn't stock a few items. This is a great sauce. I had to replace red wine so, believe it or not, to make the 1/2c "Red wine" I used 3 tbsp balsamic vinegar and the rest brewed coffee. Complimented the cinnamon and allspice very well. I hate to change others' recipes but this turned out super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I've been looking for a good sauce recipe and this is the best I've ever had!!!!!!! Doubled the garlic, as we love garlic, and used fresh mushrooms, but left the rest of the recipe alone. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I love experimenting with non-traditional spices in foods, such as cinnamon in this one. Between the cinnamon and dried onion soup mix, it has a terrible aftertaste. Sorry to give it such a negative review but won't be making it again obviously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emileighx0x

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was a great sauce, but it was a lot of work to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerry g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
All I can say is yummy .....love it Iam cooking it now an cant keep out of the pot...lol thanks so much GOD BLESS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Shirley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was really tomatoey and okay tasting, but missing some wow or zip. My husband did not like the cinnamon so I won't make this again. I used this in a baked spaghetti dish instead of a jarred sauce. It was okay, but just not quite to our preference. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States