Field Grade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I totally liked this and hubby is warming up to it. He said it was really good cold for lunch today. I made a few changes. I used ground sweet Italian sausage as my meat. I just knew it would mix well with the secret ingredient. I also added a pinch of sugar as I do to all tomato sauces. It helps lower the acid and removes the after taste some tomato sauces have. I followed the recipe as written from that point. Did a taste test with my family and then made the rest of my changes, I had a tomato needing to be used and I like a more rustic sauce so I cut it up and threw it in the pot, while that simmered a little longer I removed the stem and vain in the spinach I picked a week ago and really needed using up. I threw that in the pot and called it dinner. My picture is of the sauce before I added the spinach. Delicious with and without the spinach. This recipe is going in my winter round up of comfort foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
A field grade officer is Major and above. It doesn't start at Colonel. Decent sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
There are a couple of pizza places in Brandon MB that use this recipe (or something similar). I've missed those pizza joints and have been looking everywhere for something similar since I moved. This is for real a $10,000 recipe!!! I knew they used cinnamon but the onion soup mix is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
put in a bit more spices, and it's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
OK. It did remind me of the military chow hall, so perhaps that is why it isn't rated any higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Fantastic! You've pinpointed exactly what has been missing from my sauce that I just couldn't put my finger on. This is now my go to sauce. I can't wait to try a meatless version on top of meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great recipe. I did not have mushrooms and instead grated some carrots and zuchinni. Instead of soup mix I chopped fresh onion and browned with the meat. The flavor is excellant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I used my own msg-free onion "soup" mix, fresh mushrooms and I used organic canned tomatoes and tomato paste. This turned out a very unique sauce, not like anything we've ever had before. I would have never thought to put cinnamon and allspice in a sauce but it worked. My husband kept remarking that there was something different that he couldn't put his finger on--though he was kind of iffy about wether he liked it. The kids thought it was great. This was very quick to assemble and really came together with ingredients I had on hand. Next time, I'd like to try this with organic tomato sauce and skip the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I had a cinnamonny sauce in a restaurant once, and had searched for a recipe...then I found yours! My only substitutions were fresh basil over dried and a slow simmer of longer than an hour, but other than that, I didn't change a thing - solid 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Malmstrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Great sauce for my field grade officer! We loved it. Only thing...I would omit the salt next time. Plenty of salt in the onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeta724
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States