Fiance's Favorite Savory Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made two small changes and that was cutting way back on the salt and I used fresh parmesan instead of the italian cheese blend, only because that was what I had on hand. We liked the flavor of these but found the breadcrumbs odd which made the dish unappealing. I'd like to make this recipe again, but omit the breadcrumbs, then re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very good recipe! I would suggest par boiling the green beans before adding to the mixture. Maybe it was my beans but--they were a little tough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These were very tasty, but the breadcrumbs were a little strange to us. I may make this again, but will probably skip the breadcrumbs the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This dish was very good. I did not know what to expect at first but it turned out very good. My 7 year old daughter loved it so much, she kept asking for more. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Green beans with a vinegar taste. My family thought these were ok. They weren't crazy on the vinegar taste. The beans had to cook longer than 10 minutes. The bacon and the cheese were a nice touch. Thanks Ranchgirl for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is amazing I cooked it for thanksgiving and for Christmas and my family and friends just loved it everyone was asking for the recipe. I just added a little more water cause I think it needs to cook longer for people that are not huge vegie eaters. My family preferred the green beans a little more softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Good green beans. I think I added a bit too much bacon, but that's okay. Nice and savory, but a bit heavy so I'd try and serve with something light. Or, just serve as the main dish. It has protein in it, right? These are pretty simple, easy, and quick. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I dont think the flavor of these beans is enough to warrant all the extra fat added to them. They were pretty good, but I think I'll opt for healthier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This made a nice addition to my mothers Day dinner! My family loved it! It was very flavorful! I did omitted the vinegar and bread crumbs and used parmesan cheese instead of italian blend with my changes made it 5 star for sure...thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
There wasn't enough water to sufficiently cook the beans. Added extra water, and then MORE water. Took FAR longer than the 10 minutes the recipe stated in order to get beans sufficiently cooked. (At 10 minutes, they were still very crunchy). Vinegar caused an unpleasant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States