Fiance's Favorite Savory Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
There wasn't enough water to sufficiently cook the beans. Added extra water, and then MORE water. Took FAR longer than the 10 minutes the recipe stated in order to get beans sufficiently cooked. (At 10 minutes, they were still very crunchy). Vinegar caused an unpleasant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Thanksgiving side family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I like the flavors, but its not near enough liquid to cook the beans... I would suggest par-boiling the beans before adding them to the mix or add more liquid so they get cooked... otherwise a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I thought the vinegar overpowered the dish. Did not care for the taste. Green beans took much longer than 10 minutes to cook. May try again without vinegar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe is amazing I cooked it for thanksgiving and for Christmas and my family and friends just loved it everyone was asking for the recipe. I just added a little more water cause I think it needs to cook longer for people that are not huge vegie eaters. My family preferred the green beans a little more softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made two small changes and that was cutting way back on the salt and I used fresh parmesan instead of the italian cheese blend, only because that was what I had on hand. We liked the flavor of these but found the breadcrumbs odd which made the dish unappealing. I'd like to make this recipe again, but omit the breadcrumbs, then re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Good green beans. I think I added a bit too much bacon, but that's okay. Nice and savory, but a bit heavy so I'd try and serve with something light. Or, just serve as the main dish. It has protein in it, right? These are pretty simple, easy, and quick. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Green beans with a vinegar taste. My family thought these were ok. They weren't crazy on the vinegar taste. The beans had to cook longer than 10 minutes. The bacon and the cheese were a nice touch. Thanks Ranchgirl for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I dont think the flavor of these beans is enough to warrant all the extra fat added to them. They were pretty good, but I think I'll opt for healthier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These were very tasty, but the breadcrumbs were a little strange to us. I may make this again, but will probably skip the breadcrumbs the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States