Fettuccini with Mushroom, Ham and Rose Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I just finished making this dish and wow, it was great. I was worried that it would be a little bland but once the sauce simmered down it was just right. We're garlic lovers in our family so I added one more clove,I also added 1/2 a chopped green pepper. I cut back on the butter and used 3/4 cup 10% cream and 3/4 cup milk to cut back the fat content of the recipe. It was still great and the sauce was thick enough. I think next time I might add a little parmesan or mozzerella cheese to it just before taking the sauce off the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Excellent recipe!! The only change I made was to substitute 1/2 cup lite sour cream and 1/2 cup half and half for the 1 1/2 heavy cream. The sour cream adds a little zip and the combo is healthier. I also used fresh basil and parsley, which I had on hand. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This was wonderful! My husband had a funny look when he saw what I was making for dinner, but after trying it he wants it again! He's even going to take the recipe to work at the firestation for the guys to try! I was trying to use up what I had on hand, so I had a few substitutions. Instead of fresh mushrooms I used canned, used penne pasta in place of fettucine, and plain evaporated milk for the cream. It was still wonderful. I can only imagine if I had actually used fresh mushrooms and real cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Wonderful!! I used 1 cup heavy whipping cream and 1/2 cup milk, used a garden style spaghetti sauce (with mushrooms and green peppers) and 1 1/2 tsp of oregano, parsely and basil. I also spinkled mozerella cheese over each bowl. We loved this! Next time, the recipe will be doubled and in addition to the ham, I will add some cooked, cubed chicken, some shrimp and perhaps even some sun-dried tomatoes. THANKS Chris and Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is a hearty sauce and a great way to use leftover ham. In my non-stick sauce pot, I saute the ham (2 cups diced)first to render a lot of the fat then I drain off most of the fat and saute the onions and garlic. Then I use 2 cups of Pasta sauce, 1 cup half-n half and 1 cup skim milk. Just these modifications alone will cut your calories almost in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
We had company when I made this and they and I thought it was good, but too spicy. My husband, who loves spicy foods thought it was great. Next time, and there will be a next time, I'll use just 1/4 ts. of crushed red pepper instead of a whole one. We cut the mushrooms smallish, which seemed to work nicely. I used leftover ham instead of deli slices and kind of julienned it but smaller and the pieces was too big. The ham and mushrooms really need to diced or they don't work well with the pasta. I also put diced tomatoes on top of the sauce after everything was dished up. Overall, great dish. Fairly easy to make, a little longer prep and cooking time than what is listed. I will definitely be making this again, just with less crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This is the first ham recipe that I've found that doesn't taste like an excuse to use up leftovers. It is fabulous. Some of my guests have found it too spicy, but that's how my family loves it. The flavors are so unique together. This favorite freezes very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
INCREDIBLE!!!!! I used penne pasta because that is what I had on hand, but other wise I followed the recipe and it turned out wonderful!!!!!! I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
YUMMY! YUMMY! This was great! It was not a heavy sauce at all, which surprised me! My husband loved it! As a side dish, we had brushetta! Next time I want to experiment and add shrimp or scallops! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Excellent recipe! Reduced the mushrooms in half and added a lot more ham. We were using a smoked ham that friends gave us for Christmas and it gave it a nice flavor. Also, since this reminded me of a pancetta sauce, I decided to add a splash of vodka. Wow! That was a great addition. I didn't think it was too spicy but those were the first words that my husband said. One hour later, I tasted it again, and this time around I thought it was too spicy. I had added additional red pepper flakes. Will make again but next time I will keep the red pepper at the amount indicated and reduced the herbs just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States