Fettuccini with Mushroom, Ham and Rose Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I made this pasta dish last night and my picky husband said it was "okay" but the fact he went back for thirds told me otherwise lol. I used prosciutto instead of ham, left out the pepper flakes due to the fact my husband doesn't like spice and used a bottled sauce with peppers, onions and sausage that I had sitting in my pantry. The dish turned out delish, the only thing I would have changed was to reduce the amount of butter (it made it a little too buttery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hultman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
As another reviewer stated, this was a party in my mouth! I had to sub light sour cream for the heavy cream as that was all I had. Also halved the herbs and left out the red pepper, otherwise my elderly mother would not have eaten it. I can only imagine how good it would have been if I made exactly as written. I don't normally like cream sauces, but this was fabulous, thank you for the recipe...I will definitely be making this again. Definitely restaurant quality flavour. As an FYI, I just heated up some leftover (2 days later), and it wasn't as flavourful as when fresh made. I will know for next time to make only what I need for those actually showing up for dinner...I can't wait to make this again...loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was a quick, easy & delicious dish! I didn't have the ingredients to make the sauce, so used a creamy, rosa sauce from the jar. Instead of mushrooms I diced up red bell peppers. Also used penne pasta instead of fettucinni, though I'm sure it'd be good with any kind of pasta! Since I wanted a more sweet than spicy flavor, I omitted the red pepper flakes & added more basil. At the end I topped it with mozzarella cheese & fresh, thin slices of red apple. Gave it a great crunch & added flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was good, a different way to use leftover ham. I dont like mushrooms, but used this b/c it was a different way to use ham. If you like mushrooms i think you'd love this as is. I used half and half b/c it was what I had on hand and it thickened nicely. I actually doubled the sauce b/c 2 cups (and then 1/3 reduced) just didnt seem like much sauce (with no mushrooms). Doubling the sauce made enough for 1 1/2 lbs of pasta in my opinion. A trick that I learned from Rachel Ray (go figure): Instead of scooping the sauce over the noodles as you serve it, put the noodles in with the sauce and mix and turn it for a few minutes to allow the noodles to absorb some of the sauce. I've been doing this for all the pasta dishes I've been making lately and it is a great tip. (And this is a strange color as other reviewers have noted, but it's supposed to be, it's a rose sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delicious! I subbed evaporated milk for cream and thickened with 1/2c mozzarella cheese. I also diced the mushrooms and added 1/4c of green pepper since I had it on hand. Great balance of flavors with a dash of heat. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The only change I made to this recipe was I cut it in half. It has a very unique flavor but is delightful. I will be making this one again. Thanks for a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I loved it. Easy to make and looks like a dish you spent alot of time on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truckin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Unique and tasty. Still tasted great even though I used all that was left in my bare cupboard....canned mushrooms, freeze dried onions, pizza sauce, etc...ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Delicious pasta. I used sour cream instead of the whipping cream. Next time I might try chicken instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PennyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Used veggie ham slices and coconut milk. Also, I served the sauce with rotis instead of pasta. Inspite of all this, it was well liked. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States