Fettuccini with Mushroom, Ham and Rose Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
1. Ignore the recommendations of the reviews that make substitutions for the sake of putting their stamp on the recipe; this one is perfect the way it is. Why tamper with perfect? This is restaurant quality stuff. 2. The only exception to rule one is to reduce the red pepper flakes if you don't care for spicy hot. As "hot" recipes go, this one isn't all that spicy hot; just enough for an interesting little kick. 3. I used 3/4 pound of ham and cut it too thin. Cut the ham thick enough so you can sink your teeth into it a little. If not, you don't have the sense that ham is even in the dish. Bravo! This one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very tasty and easy to make. I had purchased sliced mushrooms, so it saved on time. I like spicy food, so this was just perfect. If you don't like food to be too spicy, I would add less crushed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This was delicious. I halfed the recipe and just sprinkled the red pepper into the sauce. (I didn't have crushed so I just used ground.) It tasted great, despite my fears of mixing spaghetti sauce and ham. This is worth making for company. Oh, and I used whole wheat spaghetti noodles instead, and it turned out great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is a fabulous pasta sauce. I cut it in half for 3 of us and there is always a bit left over. I LOVE this and make it whenever I have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
WOW! This is a great meal! Its the perfect blend of ingredients. Weve had this meal so many times,and it never dissapoints! Weve also used bow-tie pasta when we were in a bind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aDsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Great recipe with a few modifications. Cut the oregano, basil, and parsley in half. Add the red pepper to taste... approximately 1/2 tsp. for us. Also used fresh fettucine. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I actually only used the sauce part of this recipe, and used it on gnocchi, which was great! I reduced the mushrooms to 1/2 pound. It made about two servings. I couldn't find an easy recipe for rose sauce so I tried this and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I love this recipe as written! I've made it several times. I've tried it using half and half instead of cream, as many have suggested, and to us, it is just not nearly as good! With most recipes, I can't tell the difference, but the heavy cream is needed here in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was interesting. I'm glad I read the other reviews first because I cut the spices back by 1/2 and the crushed red pepper to 1/4 tsp. Seemed to taste fine with those amounts. Anymore would have been way too spicy. It's hard to gauge 6 slices of ham since they come in all different sizes. A more exact amount would have been helpful. I took another reviewer's suggestion of saving time by chopping the ham in the food processor. Made the job go quickly but the ham had the consistency of a hash, which I don't think worked well with the recipe. Also, I took another reviewer's suggestion of using 1/2 and 1/2. Since I already had the heavy cream, I used half of each, and it tasted fine. This recipe makes A LOT so I would suggest cutting it in half for a family of four. Not sure if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Another left over ham meal from Thanksgiving dinner. It was very different than the boring spaghetti sauce. The heavy cream made it very rich. Nice to try a different meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States