Fettuccini Tomato Rustica II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! I did however make a few changes of my own. I used penne & I only used 3/4 cup of olive oil and added 1 cup of white cooking (or house) wine or else it was too greasy. I also added in the oil from the jar of sun dried tomatoes for extra flavor (it's only about a tblsp full). I also rinsed and reused my pot after making the pasta. Used a little of my 3/4 cup of olive oil to brown my garlic and then added all of my other ingredients. Then added my pasta at the end. I didn't add any chicken this time but usually use shrimp instead. Every time I make this dish, it goes as quick as the wind! My fianc'e loves Macaroni Grill and they have something similar which led me to try to somewhat duplicate it. It does take some time to prep and can be a bit pricey to make but it is very well worth the time and money!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was very good. I didn't add all the oil that was called for because it seemed like a lot. But that ended up being a mistake cause it was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mml25aqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Hmmm...I thought this sounded great, but it was really lacking flavor. I used only 1/4 cup of oil and it was still way to greasy. The combination sounds good so I'll play with it but I think next time I'm going to add more feta (double), even less oil (1/8 cup?) some red pepper, and saute the garlic (4 cloves) before adding it to the mix. At the suggestion of a friend, I'll try adding some bacon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I really Loved this recipe - I'm a big Pesto, Garlic, Sun Dried Tomatoes fan..so any recipe including these instantly grab my attention. It was so simple to make, great for a hot night when you really don't feel like 'cooking' - i'll definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
cut way back on the oil as some suggested. Husband thought black olives would have been a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekOphile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I would definitely recommend cutting the oil back to about 1/3 cup and subbing in sun-dried tomato pesto for a smoother sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Awesome! I don't like to waste great flavors, oils and make extra dirty dishes if I can avoid it. So, I made made a few minor adjustments that worked great for me. I used about 11 chicken tenderloins and a box of bow tie noodles, since that's what I had on hand. I agreed with other reviewers that this was an oily dish. Since the jar of whole sun dried tomatoes I used had about 3/4 cups to 1 cup oil in it, I only needed the oil from that. My Pesto was oily and you can always add olive oil as needed. Cooking chicken in the sun dried tomato oil gave it a fantastic flavor. I'm a cheese head, so I of course increased the amounts of cheese a little. I found it easier for me when assembling it to leave the pasta in a strainer while I made the cheese mixture in the same pot I used to the cook noodles in. Added the noodles back into that pot, stirred very well, and started heating the pot. I reheated the cooked sliced chicken in garlic using the same skillet I used to cook the chicken for about 3 minutes. This added a roasted garlic flavor to it and absorbed the left over oils and juices I used to cook the chicken in from the skillet. Then scraped the chicken and garlic into the cheesy noodle mixture and stirred. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINZESSINTF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is my second review for this wonderful recipe. I am always looking for ways to reduce the fat content of recipes. I used NO oil in this recipe and instead of the sundried tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes. The water from the can ensured the dish was not too dry and it still tasted a treat! Thanks again Marc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downunder de

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Innes, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This dish has so much flavor my husband, who only loves tomato based sauces actually likes it. It has become a regular on our family meal plan. As a plus it is very easy to make. I also variate and make it with sausage sometimes instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This was wonderful! My one complaint is that it was too oily. I reduced the oil and will even more so next time. I used sun dried tomatoes from a package because that's what I had, and they were very good. I also added marinated artichoke hearts. My husband has been begging me to make it ever since. One of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States