Fettuccini Tomato Rustica II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Did cut the oil back to about 1/3 cup in the sauce and it was very good. I sauted the chicken in about 3 tbs oil and a splash of white wine. Very Moist. Tasted very Italian..would have given it 5 stars expect that if one used 1 cup of oil it would be too oily for our taste( and I love olive oil)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
It was good, I still like some of the other recipes for pesto sauces better. Make it healthier by using homemade Spinach pesto!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
holy cow! this recipe is AWESOME! i, too, cut down on the olive oil. this dish looks restaurant quality and tastes even better. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
TASTY ! I believe the amount of oil you add needs to be evaluated depending on your personal cooking experience. I grilled my chicken with my own spices therefore I needed no oil. I relied on the oil from the sundried tomatoes and alittle extra per our families preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Like other reviewers, I thought that a cup of olive oil was way too much. I used a few turns around the pan to cook the chicken and then a touch in the sauce. BTW, this was a bit of an experiment in that I did not have any ricotta so I used cottage cheese and processed it until smooth with a little olive oil and the rest of the sauce ingredients except for the sun dried tomatoes. I added white wine to thin out the sauce more. I only had dry sun dried tomaotes so I reconstituted them with boiling water and used some of that water at the end to thin out the sauce a little bit more. A tad too strong with the garlic, but then, my cloves were large. I would cut back on the garlic and maybe saute it in the olive oil used to cook the chicken. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I made this a couple of weeks ago and it was good, not great. First off, the OIL! Man, that's a lot of oil. I used ONLY the oil that came with the sundried tomatoes and it was STILL way, WAY too much. Since the oil was in the tomatoes it did give the pasta a nice smoky tomato type flavor but the dish itself was way to greasy. Truly, I think that you can make this with no added oil. If you do that, it really is a fairly healthy dish. Also, when I made the chicken I went ahead and cooked it in a bit of chicken broth, some olive oil, basil and oregano - that part came out great. I will make this dish again, it just needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This dish was so simple to prepare. To reduce the fat/calories, I grilled a chicken breast instead of sauteing in oil and used 1/8-1/4 cup oil instead of a cup. Also used lite ricotta. The pasta was fabulous, I will make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This was very tasty and you can make it without adding the whole cup of olive oil since the pesto and the sun dried tomatoes are in an olive oil base you get plenty there. I browned my chicken in about 2-3TBLS of olive oil along with the chopped garlic. I also substituted chicken broth for the remaining olive oil and soaked the dried tomatoes in about a 1/2 cup of it. Then combined this mixture with the pesto and ricotta. Combine the chicken and pasta and stir in the pesto mix. I opted to omit the feta as I felt it was already salty enough but not too oily. I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woxall, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
The aroma from this recipe got rave reviews at my fiance's office. When he was heating up leftovers, everyone came by to check it out. Very good recipe. I used a mixture of basil pesto and sun dried tomato pesto. I omitted the feta cheese because I didn't have any, but next time I will try it with it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is my second review for this wonderful recipe. I am always looking for ways to reduce the fat content of recipes. I used NO oil in this recipe and instead of the sundried tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes. The water from the can ensured the dish was not too dry and it still tasted a treat! Thanks again Marc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downunder de

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Innes, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States