Fettuccini Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Very Good, I changed a few things to make this restaurant quality: I only used 2 shallots, finely chopped, no onions, only 1/2 lb bacon and 4 boneless skinless chicken breast, 1 can peas, 1 cup heavy cream, 4 egg yolks, 1& 1/2 c shredded parm cheese and 3 cloves garlic. I grilled the chicken breast, slice them thin and set aside. I also cooked the bacon along with the shallots, then added garlic. I added the peas (drained) and the chicken at the end, topped with fresh cracked pepper. Very good and VERY easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
OH MY GOD! This recipe was so good I cried eating it. And afterward, I wished I could spend the rest of my life with a woman who could cook like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
My DH and I made this for supper last night, and the end result was pretty good, but we did change the recipe quite a bit; here is what we did. We were only cooking for 3 people, so we cut the recipe in half for starters (using only 1/2 lb of linguini). We cut the bacon into small pieces and browned; about halfway through the browning process, we added a half a large onion, diced (it could have used more though). Once the onion was cooked and a bit caramelized, we added 1 clove of garlic, minced (should have used 2 cloves). We cooked that together just until the garlic was fragrant and meanwhile we cooked the pasta. In a small bowl, we whisked together 2 eggs, 1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese, 1/4 cup whole milk (we didn't have any cream on hand), 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg and pepper. Once the pasta was done cooking, we added it to the pan with the bacon and onions, piled it up high and dumped the egg mixture on top. Working quickly we folded the egg mixture into the pasta so as not to cook the eggs. Once thoroughly mixed, we removed it from the heat, tossed in some fresh flat leaf parsley and ate it (topped with more fresh parmesan and pepper). It was very tasty and we will make it again (with my suggestions) for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I have made this many times and my family loves it! I, however, fry the bacon cut up first,remove some of the bacon fat and then fry the onions, shallot and garlic. This gives a good flavor. I also temper the egg yolks by warming the cream and temper the egg yolks and then put it all together. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Too much grease and oil, so with some modifications this was a 5 star recipe. I cut the bacon back by 1/3 and fried it first (set it aside.) Then I drained off more than half the grease and sauteed the onion in it. (Didn't have a shallot so skipped it.) When the onions were almost done added 3 crushed cloves of garlic and a couple tablespoons of chicken broth. Used 3 eggs instead of 4 egg yolks and whipped them into 1 and 1/2 cups of heavy cream. Then when pasta was done I tossed it with the onion/garlic mixture and added the cream/egg mixture to it, cooking and tossing until it started thickening. Then I added 1 cup of parmesan and 1/3 cup mozzarella and tossed. Then seasoned it with a little nutmeg, black and cayenne pepper, and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
delicious and easy! I've made this one a few times already, each time slightly altering it with whatever I can find in the refrigerator. Great with mushrooms and sauteed in white wine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
We loved this reciped thought we did change it a little instead of useing full cream we swapped it for light and creamy evaprative milk making it a little more healthy it was fantastic. We are going to add spinich next time we make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was very good. I thought it was weird, not to cook the eggs, but it turned out well. I didn't have any shallots so I skipped that part, drained all the bacon grease, and used only half the noodles. I was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I could feel the inches being added to my waistline, but this was without a doubt one of the most delicious dishes ever! I cooked the bacon separately to make it crisp, then cooked the onion, shallots (only 2) and garlic in the drippings. I also used a full cup of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was an exceptional recipe!! It was very easy, but tastes like something you slaved over all day!! My neice is just about the pickiest eater in the world and even she loved it!! It even warmed up well as leftovers! I made it as is, but added some sauteed scallops and shrimp for a little extra! YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States