Fettuccini Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
oh my god this was TO DIE FOR! Here is what i did: used 200 grams pancetta, I would use 100 more grams next time, but a pound seems like too much. I used 3/4 cup heavy cream, 1/4 cup skim milk, 1 cup parmesan cheese and 4 egg yolks for the sauce.. it was very creamy and not dry at all that way. .my family loved it.. I didnt have shallots so i used half of a large onion and 2 green onions.. and omitted the garlic .. wow, great recipe! this is my new favorite pasta dish :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Mmmmm, really good! I mixed the cream, eggs and cheese together before pouring on as mentioned and it was SO creamy! I loved it and so did my boyfriend. VERY filling too. I get home from work late and I need to find meals I can make in a hurry so we don't have to eat at 8:00, and this was so quick. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
delicious! this is practically the closest thing to restaurant-quality carbonara that I've tried. I added peas for color and extra nutrition. Also, the sauce is pretty thick, so I added a splash of skim milk to thin it out. Shallots are what make this recipe so great- don't substitute them! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A La Miss Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I added some frozen salad shrimp to the recipe and it was wonderful! Also added a bit more cheese...but that's just because I'm a fat kid. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vannessa Marie Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Tasty! Next time I'll make it without the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwissMiss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very simple with great results. Had to make do w/o shallots and subst. 2% for cream. Topped w/ pesto chix breast for tasty, colorful & quick supper with a beautiful aroma (bacon, onion, garlic) which filled the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Excellent, but a heart breaker. This recipe called for an entire package of bacon. Are you kidding? Now I LOVE bacon, but this could give you a serious heart attack just thinking about it. I did it according to the directions the first time and it was very tasty even though I forgot the garlic. (And why add oil when you're going to saute the onions in the bacon grease anyway?) NEXT time, however, I plan on microwaving the bacon on paper towels to get the stuff cooked faster (it took forever to saute) and get the fat crispy without loading the dish with bacon grease. I will save a strip or two to saute the onion. I might even cut back on the quantity of bacon. But otherwise it is really good. I didn't give it 5 stars just because it's a total artery clogger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This is one of my husband's favorite dinners! I used 1 cup cream, as per reviewers' suggestions, and it was perfect. I also added 2 chicken breasts, cut in thin strips and cooked with basil and olive oil and added an extra clove of garlic to add a little more flavor. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Court

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
A lovely taste, but the recipe calls for far too much pasta vs. sauce. I highly recommend either of the following options: a) use less pasta, or b) make double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeymoogle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This recipe came out great!! I didn't have shallots and added more parmesan, an extra egg yolk. Would recommend this carbonara recipe, A plus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States