Fettuccini Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
i love this recipe however, i changed it by adding a cup and a half of cream so sauce not so thick. I also cooked shallots and garlic in five teaspoons of the bacon grease. will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very good. I let the bacon crisp before adding shallots and garlic (drained the bacon fat). I skipped the onions and added some green peas. The sauce was a little too "eggy" for my taste, but my husband loved it, so it will go into the rotation. Great way to use up leftover half-n-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was a great weeknight dinner. I didn't have any shallots, but I beefed up the recipe a little with some chopped up marinated artichoke hearts and a can of mushrooms added to the bacon when I added the garlic. I also added about 1/4 c. of white wine at the same time. I didn't have any cream so I used milk instead, which was good. Next time I will double the cream sauce part of the recipe and cook the bacon sans onions to begin with in order to let it get a little bit crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linzdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Really great. I was looking for a last minute dinner idea so i used the ingredient search and wa la. I would definately double the sauce as everyone else has said. Used lots of s&p and extra parm right before serving. great week night dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was sooooo yummy! My whole family loved it. The only thing I added was a cup of peas to the mix. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Made this with the addition of italian sausage and was wonderful. I had to make double the carbonara sauce but I made an entire 1 lb. of noodles, bacon, and italian sausage. Made for 2 we had leftovers for 4 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
So yummy! I cooked the bacon first without the olive oil and onion. Halfway through cooking the bacon, I poured off most of the bacon grease and added the shallots and garlic. An interesting twist is to add red pepper flakes for a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.rae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is my favorite in a pinch meal of all time! I always have bacon in the freezer, and I use half & half that I always have on hand for my coffee in place of the heavy cream. I found frozen chopped shallots in the freezer section, plus I always add an extra clove of garlic in with the onion and a pinch of nutmeg with the egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very good recipe. I used linguini instead of fettuccini, and following others' suggestions, used half a pound of pasta instead of a full pound. Used 2 shallots, no onion, half in half instead of heavy cream, half a pound of bacon, one egg. I cooked the bacon first, then cooked the shallots and garlic in some of the leftover bacon grease (poured most of the grease out). My ten year old didn't really like it, especially the shallots, but I think my older daughter will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States