Fettuccini Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made this recipe with what we had on hand, and it turned out delicious. I cooked it in a big stainless steel electric wok- which allowed me to easily toss everything together! First I used olive oil spray and omitted the shallots, but snipped 4 slices of bacon and fried it in the wok, adding 1 minced onion and 3 cloves of minced garlic. I also added the chopped leafy green portion of 1 bunch of bok choy. For pasta I used Barilla Plus Rotille (in the yellow box) and I cooked frozen soybeans with the pasta. After draining the pasta and adding it to the wok, I tossed in shredded Asiago cheese and finely chopped walnuts, and 4 whole eggs, tossing to mix everything together-- and served this with pan sauteed boneless chicken breasts. The flavor was amazing, my husband raved and even my toddler ate 2 plates full!! I used low-sodium bacon, and the flavor was incredible. I omitted the cream- the texture and sauce was just right without it, and milk would have been to runny (which was all we had.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is impress the hell out of your friends kinda stuff. Wow. I got worried when the onions turned to mush, but I guess that's what they were supposed to do. Yummy!! Thick, rich, delicious...can't ask for anything more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I'm lovin' it! Sorry I love pasta and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misterZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I have no words for how amazing this recipe is. I love how easy it is to make and to improvise. I usually throw in mushrooms and spinach to make believe it is a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I thought this was pretty tasty and simple to make. Next time, I think I will allow the eggs & cream to sit out and warm just a little while cooking the other ingredients. The sauce was a little too cold for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Good recipe. Throughly enjoyed. Easy to make, good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meskimo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I would make this again - one of my favorite meals. Very flavorful. Everyone loved it. I was tempted to not use all the bacon because it seemed like so much but I was glad I did. It added a ton of flavor. I did not use shallots, just the onion. Bacon should be cooked on low heat so it will take awhile and the onions should not be crispy like other reviewers commented. My guess is their heat was too high for the bacon. Also I used all the grease from the bacon in the pasta and the dish was not too greasy. The bacon fat gives flavor! Eat immediately. The longer it sits the more the consistency of the sauce changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
OMG this was sooooo yummy! I loved it! To make things easier on myself I used my chopper on the onion, shallots and garlic and cubbed the bacon. I cooked them all together at the same time. (and it turned out great) This saved a couple steps and cut the prep time. Oh, and I only used 2 shallots because that is all I had. Would also be great with chicken and peas as one review stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I love love love this recipe. I didn't change a thing, which I never do the first time I make a recipe, and it turned out delicious! As I write this, I finishing off what was left over from dinner last night, which wasn't much, and I'm having it for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
i love this recipe however, i changed it by adding a cup and a half of cream so sauce not so thick. I also cooked shallots and garlic in five teaspoons of the bacon grease. will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States