Fettuccini Alfredo I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
To add a little more flavor, you may want to first saute the garlic with red pepper flakes in a tsp of olive oil/butter, then add another tsp of oil and the flour to make the roux mixture. Let this cook for a minute, then add the milk. Stir over a low flame (milk boils over in a second!) and as it thickens up, season with salt, lots of pepper and add some NUTMEG to add that special twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This recipe turned our horrible! I followed the scant directions exactly. The area where my husband and I had trouble was with the sauce. Should you boil it, turn the heat off, let it sit an hour to thicken??? So it became a big soupy mess that even 1.5 cups of parmesan cheese couldn't solve. It was a big soupy mess with 2 cups of liquid in the bowl! I looked up a recipe and it says to use HEAVY CREAM (it'll turn out much thicker, not soupy), and it says what to do with your burners as well. F- is my rating for this recipe. I usually like all recipes but I don't agree with the positive reviews here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This was easy and delicious! I used soy milk because that is all I had and it turned out great! I thought it might be too spicy with the hot sauce added but it wasn't, couldn't even taste it. Next time I will add more. I added ground black pepper, salt and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is a basic recipe which in my opinion must be tweaked. What I did was 4 1/2 tablespoons of butter as stated. While it was melting, I added one clove of garlic which I grated on a zester. I also added one teaspoon of hot red pepper flakes. I let this cook in the melting butter. I then added the flour but it was not enough. Ended up with 3 1/2 table spoons of flour. Then added the milk (actually used one percent) After whisking and cooking for a while, added the cheese. At least a cup (I was grating right into the sauce) Added much needed salt and pepper. (taste after the cheese because parm is salty) It came out wonderful and after I poured this on the fettuccine, I added fresh parsley. Ok it was dried. Raining so didnt want to go pick it. The sauce had just enough bite. Next time I am going to add chicken and broccoli. Maybe Ill try olive oil instead of butter. Definitly a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This is a simple, classic recipe and an old standby that I can play with depending upon what I have in my pantry. I followed one suggestion and sauteed the garlic and red pepper flakes before adding an extra bit of olive oil and the flour, and making the roux. Then I added the butter (I used soy margarine) and stirred, and then the milk (I used skim) and stirred. I brought the mixture just to a boil (and as suggested, watch it carefully! milk boils fast!) to incorporate the oil (beforehand, the oil had been floating on top...) before adding the Parmesan (and I used plain ol' powdered Kraft in the can, and I'm not sure I even had 1/2 C). I tasted as I went, and the red pepper flakes gave it a lovely zing so I omitted the hot sauce. Mine was more grainy than "velvety" (probably because of the powdered Parm) but it thickened nicely. I used it over 2 packages of fresh ravioli, broccoli flowerettes and salad shrimp. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I was looking for an economical version of Alfredo sauce to prepare for a large reception. I made this to test it, and I am impressed. This is delicious! I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
My nephew is a huge lover of crab, so I always pick up the 'imitation crab' as a treat for him. Recently, he grew tired of eating it by itself, so I went in search of a recipe to incorporate his crab in. THIS ONE IS AWESOME!! An eleven year old picky child scarfed it down! I only added 6 ounces (which equated to 98cents worth of the stuff) of the crab and whala! He had so much that his stomach began to hurt, lol:). Thanks Jane!! Just a quick note, this was the most inexpensive dish I've ever made and it is so sought after by adults when you 'go out'. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I needed something quick and easy tonight on the spur of the moment. I had all the ingredients so I was able to make this up and it was great! The only thing is I would add salt for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I made this for lunch just now for my father and sister. It was very good. And I'm a slow cook, and I got it done in 15-20 minutes, from the time I started getting everything together until it was on the plate. I'm glad I found a recipe that is really easy and doesn't take much time... And it wasn't even lumpy (I cannot make gravy)!!! Next time I will add some more seasoning, like Oregano and Parsely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My family didn't enjoy this recipe. We thought it tasted a bit like a cheap imitation to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States