Fettuccini Alfredo I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
To add a little more flavor, you may want to first saute the garlic with red pepper flakes in a tsp of olive oil/butter, then add another tsp of oil and the flour to make the roux mixture. Let this cook for a minute, then add the milk. Stir over a low flame (milk boils over in a second!) and as it thickens up, season with salt, lots of pepper and add some NUTMEG to add that special twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This recipe turned our horrible! I followed the scant directions exactly. The area where my husband and I had trouble was with the sauce. Should you boil it, turn the heat off, let it sit an hour to thicken??? So it became a big soupy mess that even 1.5 cups of parmesan cheese couldn't solve. It was a big soupy mess with 2 cups of liquid in the bowl! I looked up a recipe and it says to use HEAVY CREAM (it'll turn out much thicker, not soupy), and it says what to do with your burners as well. F- is my rating for this recipe. I usually like all recipes but I don't agree with the positive reviews here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This was easy and delicious! I used soy milk because that is all I had and it turned out great! I thought it might be too spicy with the hot sauce added but it wasn't, couldn't even taste it. Next time I will add more. I added ground black pepper, salt and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is a basic recipe which in my opinion must be tweaked. What I did was 4 1/2 tablespoons of butter as stated. While it was melting, I added one clove of garlic which I grated on a zester. I also added one teaspoon of hot red pepper flakes. I let this cook in the melting butter. I then added the flour but it was not enough. Ended up with 3 1/2 table spoons of flour. Then added the milk (actually used one percent) After whisking and cooking for a while, added the cheese. At least a cup (I was grating right into the sauce) Added much needed salt and pepper. (taste after the cheese because parm is salty) It came out wonderful and after I poured this on the fettuccine, I added fresh parsley. Ok it was dried. Raining so didnt want to go pick it. The sauce had just enough bite. Next time I am going to add chicken and broccoli. Maybe Ill try olive oil instead of butter. Definitly a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This is a simple, classic recipe and an old standby that I can play with depending upon what I have in my pantry. I followed one suggestion and sauteed the garlic and red pepper flakes before adding an extra bit of olive oil and the flour, and making the roux. Then I added the butter (I used soy margarine) and stirred, and then the milk (I used skim) and stirred. I brought the mixture just to a boil (and as suggested, watch it carefully! milk boils fast!) to incorporate the oil (beforehand, the oil had been floating on top...) before adding the Parmesan (and I used plain ol' powdered Kraft in the can, and I'm not sure I even had 1/2 C). I tasted as I went, and the red pepper flakes gave it a lovely zing so I omitted the hot sauce. Mine was more grainy than "velvety" (probably because of the powdered Parm) but it thickened nicely. I used it over 2 packages of fresh ravioli, broccoli flowerettes and salad shrimp. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I was looking for an economical version of Alfredo sauce to prepare for a large reception. I made this to test it, and I am impressed. This is delicious! I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
My nephew is a huge lover of crab, so I always pick up the 'imitation crab' as a treat for him. Recently, he grew tired of eating it by itself, so I went in search of a recipe to incorporate his crab in. THIS ONE IS AWESOME!! An eleven year old picky child scarfed it down! I only added 6 ounces (which equated to 98cents worth of the stuff) of the crab and whala! He had so much that his stomach began to hurt, lol:). Thanks Jane!! Just a quick note, this was the most inexpensive dish I've ever made and it is so sought after by adults when you 'go out'. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I needed something quick and easy tonight on the spur of the moment. I had all the ingredients so I was able to make this up and it was great! The only thing is I would add salt for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I made this for lunch just now for my father and sister. It was very good. And I'm a slow cook, and I got it done in 15-20 minutes, from the time I started getting everything together until it was on the plate. I'm glad I found a recipe that is really easy and doesn't take much time... And it wasn't even lumpy (I cannot make gravy)!!! Next time I will add some more seasoning, like Oregano and Parsely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My family didn't enjoy this recipe. We thought it tasted a bit like a cheap imitation to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Smoked Sausage Alfredo

Smoked sausage puts a tasty twist on classic alfredo pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States