Fettuccini Alfredo I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
To add a little more flavor, you may want to first saute the garlic with red pepper flakes in a tsp of olive oil/butter, then add another tsp of oil and the flour to make the roux mixture. Let this cook for a minute, then add the milk. Stir over a low flame (milk boils over in a second!) and as it thickens up, season with salt, lots of pepper and add some NUTMEG to add that special twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This recipe was good but a little bland for my taste so I doubled the garlic and added a little black pepper and red pepper flakes. It took a while to thicken, maybe because I was using skim milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I make this all the time. It's simple and I always have the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Excellent texture to the sauce. Bland flavor and took a lot to spice it up. I added shrimp and peas and left out the hot sauce. I also added more flour to my likings of thickness. Will be excellent once I figure out how to give it maximum flavor w/ spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pine City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This recipe turned our horrible! I followed the scant directions exactly. The area where my husband and I had trouble was with the sauce. Should you boil it, turn the heat off, let it sit an hour to thicken??? So it became a big soupy mess that even 1.5 cups of parmesan cheese couldn't solve. It was a big soupy mess with 2 cups of liquid in the bowl! I looked up a recipe and it says to use HEAVY CREAM (it'll turn out much thicker, not soupy), and it says what to do with your burners as well. F- is my rating for this recipe. I usually like all recipes but I don't agree with the positive reviews here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Didn't see the need for the flour as the parm (which I at least tripled) made the sauce nice and thick. Loved the idea of the hot sauce. I made the alfredo the night before and just heated it up when the pasta was close to being done. Great recipe that went wonderfully with our marsala. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I didn't care for this recipie. The sauce was to thick. We made it without hotsauce. It lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
My family really liked this recipie. I didn't add the hot sauce but instead I added about a tablespoon of cream cheese, along with my grilled chicken that I seasoned heavily with pepper. It was a very simple dish to make and I know I'll be making it again many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This was really tasty. It caught my eye because I was looking for an alfredo sauce without heavy cream (because I didn't have any in the house). I added chicken and spinach and increased the amount of cheese. I won't increase it as much next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I made this alfredo and my whole family absolutely loved it!!! I did make a couple of changes... I added a chopped red pepper that I sauteed for a few minutes(until it was tender), instead of adding hot sauce. I also used heavy whipping cream instead of milk. The sauce was velvety thick and delicious. Wonderful. I will make it againg and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States