Fettuccini Alfredo I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Mmmmmmm...I made this for "family meal" at the French Culinary Institute where I work and it was super! I used cream instead of milk : ) The tobasco adds a great little kick...yumm! Just a tip...this can't be re-heated or the sauce seperates, so serve immediately! I topped it with Cajun seasoned, grilled chx breasts and everyone raved...thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I really enjoyed how easy this recipe was. I left out the hot sauce. Also I split the parmesan cheese and half and used mozzarella cheese for the other half. I felt this made the sauce a little thicker. I also used the recipe for good easy garlic chicken to make the chicken a little spicier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Excellent simple recipe. I doubled the amount of cheese because I love parmesan cheese, and I added a little nutmeg and pepper. I also left out the hot sauce because I'm a wimp...but it really hits the spot and isn't nearly as unhealthy as fettucine alfredo from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was great. I used evaporated milk and heavy cream with the regular milk when I tried it(low on milk at the time). Also added a dash of nutmeg to enhance the cream. Used olive oil in place of the butter for that authentic flavor. As I had no fresh garlic(and I'm not good at prepping it), I used garlic salt. A quick way to add vegetables to this dish is to boil them along with the pasta(used peas when I tried it). I added roasted chicken to the sauce: yum. The next time I use this recipe, I'm trying garlic powder--that will do a better job of replacing the minced garlic than the salt did for me. And I definitely recommend cream, but that's my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janell L. Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was pretty good! Not restaurant quality- but very good for a quick fix with things that I always have on hand. I sauteed the butter and flour for just a minute together before adding the milk (whisking it the whole time so I didn't have any lumps in my sauce). I also added garlic salt and LOTS of freshly ground black pepper since some reviewers found the sauce bland. And, I used probably 3/4 C. or 1 C. parmesan cheese. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKMARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
this way not very good. It resembled paper mache paste. It lacked flavor, and was just not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Wow, I was pleasantly surprised at how well this turned out. It was really easy, although you have to make sure that while it is thickening you keep stirring/whisking the bottom of the saucepan so that it doesn't get lumpy--which can get a little bit tricky if you are juggling boiling pasta, a grilling chicken breast, and the sauce! It only got four stars because it was a little on the bland side for my taste, but I will definitely make it again and just experiment a little bit to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I'm a college student with not much time on my hands, and this recipe was perfect for that! I did doctor the recipe a little bit because the sauce was too bland. I recommend using a little garlic powder, salt, seasoning salt, and pepper throughout to give it some more flavor. Other than that it was great! I served it with steamed broccoli and garlic bread. Everybody who ate it loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Excellent sauce!!! I was a little skeptical of the hot sauce but it added some excellent flavor and was not overly noticeable. I didn't have any minced garlic so I used some garlic salt and added a little pepper too. Also, used shredded parmesan cheese instead of grated and it took a while to melt but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was a wonderful, easy recipe for Fettuccini Alfredo! My husband absolutely loved it, and I thought it was great as well! Our suggestions: We also started out by sautéing the garlic in butter before adding the flour. We halved the recipe (made it for two) and added a little less butter and more milk until we got the consistency we wanted. This helped to thin out the sauce (it started out a bit thick for our taste) and also cut down on the fat a bit! We grilled some boneless skinless chicken breasts and chopped them into strips and added those to the pasta after the noodles had already been coated with the sauce (there is not a ton of sauce and if you add the chicken first, they will soak up all the sauce and leave none for the noodles!). This was a very, very simple recipe and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States