Fettuccini Alfredo I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is a basic recipe which in my opinion must be tweaked. What I did was 4 1/2 tablespoons of butter as stated. While it was melting, I added one clove of garlic which I grated on a zester. I also added one teaspoon of hot red pepper flakes. I let this cook in the melting butter. I then added the flour but it was not enough. Ended up with 3 1/2 table spoons of flour. Then added the milk (actually used one percent) After whisking and cooking for a while, added the cheese. At least a cup (I was grating right into the sauce) Added much needed salt and pepper. (taste after the cheese because parm is salty) It came out wonderful and after I poured this on the fettuccine, I added fresh parsley. Ok it was dried. Raining so didnt want to go pick it. The sauce had just enough bite. Next time I am going to add chicken and broccoli. Maybe Ill try olive oil instead of butter. Definitly a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I followed it almost exactly but sauteed the garlic first as others suggested...really infuses a bit more garlic flavor that way. I omitted hot sauce. Also mixed in about 1/3 C. cream with the milk. I also noticed the sauce needs a decent amount of SALT to help bring out the flavor. I can't believe how easy this was! I was really craving fettucini alfredo but had no idea such an easy recipe could taste so much like what you get in a restaurant. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I needed something quick and easy tonight on the spur of the moment. I had all the ingredients so I was able to make this up and it was great! The only thing is I would add salt for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Good. Simple. Quick. Just what i was looking for. It was a bit bland, but i can see how this is more of a base recipe. A great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe excatly how the author wrote it. It was really good but next time I would add a little more hot sauce and salt and paper to taste. I was lacking these flavors. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Wow, this was a great sauce! It is simple to make and uses very few ingredients. I was looking for an alfredo sauce recipe that did not call for cream or half 'n' half, because I did not have any. This recipe was perfect; simple, easy, quick, and versatile. I will definitely be using it in the future.---Oh, I added some sauteed smoked sausage to the sauce after it was finished cooking and put it all over angel hair pasta--fantastic!! The hubby and guest loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is good in a pinch if you don't have cream on hand. It definitely needs salt, and maybe slightly less flour. I left out the hot pepper sauce and sauted red pepper flakes with the garlic. It didn't have much pizazz so next time will use the sauce and see what happens. I also added some leftover imitation crab from sushi night and made a seafood alfredo. It was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDIALEIGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Simple and good. I have made it a few times, and everytime, I change the type of cheese!! I actually use blend of different cheeses, it tastes much better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was pretty good, but I had issues with the sauce seperating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very easy. Just make sure you boil it after adding the ingredients. I also added 2 tsp. of corn starch to thicken it up (before boiling) and added italian seasoning and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States