Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
WOW! this was a huge hit at my house. I took the advice of others and watched the amount of liquid I used so it wouldn't come out too runny. I made a full batch and used only 1/2 c. of chicken broth instead of 3/4 and it turned out perfect. I used the same amount of cayenne as the recipe called for because I can handle spice, but for those who are sensitive I suggest cutting the spice in half or less. I doubled the garlic, added some chopped onions in while sauteeing the peppers, and a couple pinches of dried oregano and basil and it turned out AMAZING! I'll definitely be making this on a regular basis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
591 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is a very nice recipe. The concerns regarding the watery consistency can be remidied by cooking down (and finishing) the sauce to taste including the cheese, BEFORE you add the sour cream. Sour cream does not like to be cooked nor does it reheat well...any sauce that you have added it to, will loose most of it's flavor. What was once yummy becomes flat...It is best used and eaten at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Great recipe. It's delicious and so easy. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding chicken and little more cayenne. It reminded me of the Penne Rosa you can get at Noodles restaurant. Next time I'll make it more like the penne rosa by adding some fresh tomatoes, spinach, and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I made this exact but used Fat Free sour cream and whole wheat spaghetti pasta and it was still fantastic. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I just got done eating this dish. i added the Cayenne pepper, after saute'ing the peppers garlic and onion, it toned down the kick alot, i also used only a 1/2 tsp of cayenne, and 1/2 cup of broth, as for the thickness debate on this recipe, its all in the simmering =), My GF said it was still too spicy for her, so i think i'll use 1/4 tsp of cayenne, best thing ive noticed about this dish is its cheap to make, cost me less than $10, and took only 20 mins to make. this dish is at least worth a try if you like cayenne pepper, red peppers and garlic =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I also added onions with the peppers and served with grilled chicken. Both added a lot. I also used a tomato basil fettuccine and this was a great compliment to the pasta. Don't use a parmeson and romano blend - I tried that and it did not melt well in the sauce. The parmeson worked great. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This was very easy and very good! Something different from the usual red sauce or white sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Really good. I loved how quick and easy this was. I followed the recipe as is with the exception of reducing the amount of cayenne (have small kids). I think next time I will add italian sausage or shrimp. As for the runniness of the sauce - if you let it cool for a bit it thickens right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This is an awesome recipe. I had no idea something this simple would be this flavorful. It is definetly spicey, I reduced the cayene pepper to 1/2 tsp and it is still spicey but everyone in the family eats it, even my 2 year old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I was looking for Johnny Carinos Spicy Chicken Ramono and this is very close. Very easy, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States