Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I try to have at least one meatless meal a week, so I chose to make this pasta dish. The taste of this was wonderful! I used orange bell peppers because it's what I had, and I added diced onions. As others said, the sauce was thin. I tried to lower the calories/fat by subbing plain yogurt for the sour cream. The yogurt curdled and then the parmesan cheese just melted into one big clump. I have no idea what went wrong because other reviewers didn't mention this. So it must have been a problem on my end. Next time I might just top the plated dish with the parmesan. I did reduce the cayenne to about half and was glad I did. I liked the taste of this so much that I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made this tonight for dinner. I added fresh mushrooms. It was AWESOME!!! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I made this last night and it was delicious! I halved the recipe, except for the garlic (you garlic lovers will understand, LOL). The only addition I made was some Italian sausage I had cooked earlier in the day. For those of you cooking this the first time and who might have some concerns about it being runny, keep in mind that the simmer stage will take care of that. In fact you need to keep a close eye on it as it can quickly go from runny to too dry. Also remember that the parmesan cheese added at the end will thicken the sauce up some. As I was eating it, I thought to myself that some broccoli florets would be a nice addition and in reading other reviews I see that some other people have done just that. This is worth fixing again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This was delicious!!!!!! I took the advice of others and cut back on the cayenne, 1/4 teaspoon was plenty enough. I also added shrimp, but the recipe is very tasty without them. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Mmmm this was super yummy. I made as-is and added some fresh broccoli in with the peppers. My sauce was runny, but a tablespoon of flour whisked in towards the end of cooking the sauce made it perfect :) This was quick and easy and very, very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was wonderful, even though I had only one red pepper on hand. Thanks for a great recipe. I made it more or less as printed. It's a nice change from marinara-type sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was a very qick and easy weeknight meal. I did add a can of diced tomatoes and some diced chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Really enjoyed this recipe although I thought the peppers were too much, and I like peppers. Next time I will use just one. Good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
LOVE this! This has become a beloved stand by at my house. The change I made was to use roasted red peppers, makes this recipe even better. Also like may others, lessened the amount of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was delicious, but I made several modifications. I used a 16 oz package of pasta and added baked chicken, 1/2 an onion and mushrooms, and then doubled the sauce. I used a lot less cayenne pepper than the recipe called for. First, in a saute pan, I melted butter in a little olive oil. Then, I sauteed the peppers and onions until very tender (longer than 5 minutes). I removed them from the pan and put them in a blender, along with some of the chicken broth. I pureed this until it was smooth and added a couple of tbsp of cream. Meanwhile, I added sliced mushrooms to the pan with the garlic. Then, I returned the sauce to the pan, added the sour cream, cayenne pepper, and Parmesan cheese. Because of other reviews saying that the sauce was runny, I added the broth slowly but wound up using all of it. I added the cooked pasta to the sauce and let it simmer for a few minutes to soak up some of the sauce. The result was a creamy, delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States