Fettuccine in Creamy Mushroom and Sage Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This is a great starter recipe. I made just as directed, but ended up tweaking with it a bit. I sauted diced yellow & red bell pepper first w/ olive oil, then 1/2 a red onion (not a fan of shallots), then 3 cloves finely minced garlic. I used regluar white sliced mushrooms (that is what I had on hand) and double the amount of sage. I used 1/2 cup cream as directed, but found that it wouldn't cook down. I added a bit of chicken stock (1 turn of the pan) & let simmer. Then added 1 tbl of flour to thicken. Topped with green onions. Turned out to be fantastic!!!! This sauce is very versatile. It would go well with chicken or pork. This is a great recipe. THANK YOU! I am going to put this in my monthly rotation of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This was great and easy...BUT...unfortunately I follow the advice of another review and added half the sage. That was a mistake...it needed all the sage to enhance the flavour, whether in the sauce or sprinkled on top as garnish...Ok...to be fair, I did add parmesan :) and that was good advice...I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This was easy & very tasty. I had trouble finding oyster mushrooms & substituted portabellas-made the sauce very dark & rich. I also used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of cream to reduce the fat. It was a wonderful way to use my fresh sage & I'd serve it to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This was so easy to make! I only used half the sage it called for and it was plenty! I also added parmesan cheese into the mushroom/cream mixture to make it more creamy - it gave it much more flavor. I also used regular mushrooms as they're much cheaper. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This turned out to be an excellent mushroom, cream sauce. I used a little less sage, added bacon bits and added a pinch of italian herb mix. It was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
You can use fat free half and half for less fat and calories...it's still very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I made this as a side dish to some chicken a few nights ago and the end result was good. I doubled the amount of shallot used and I used table cream instead of heavy cream and everything turned out just fine. I might make this dish again, but if I do, I will not use oyster mushrooms. They are very expensive and IMHO cremini's or even white mushrooms would be just as tasty. Also, I will increase the amount of fresh sage used as we found the flavour to be a little too subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
If i try this again, i would reduce the sage. Too strong of a flavor for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Shiffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sermagra
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I made this sauce based on the instructions of the most read review - zannah17. The only change I made was to make a roux with 1/2 Tbsp butter and 1/2 Tbsp of flour ON TOP OF the sautéed veggies. Then, I used a 1/4th of a bouillon cube instead of the broth because I didn't have the latter. The sauce was really thick because of the roux, so I added a bit of pasta water (like the Italians do!) to make the sauce a little bit thinner. I also made fresh regular spaghetti instead of making fettuccine. Fresh pasta makes this dish even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Good recipe. I topped with fresh parm. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States