Fettuccine Alfredo with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Excellent recipe. I tried it as is, and then tried it substituting Sour Cream for heavy cream, and liked that even better. I also added peas and fres muchrooms. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
This is an outstanding fettuccine! I sauteed equal parts ham and onions with butter and garlic, and added both to the noodles and sauce. It has a very rich flavor and reheats well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Simply awesome. And I mean that literally. This is an extremely SIMPLE recipe--unbelievably easy to prepare--with an awesome flavor, far better than I expected. The sauce reminds me of the Sicilian sauce at Valentino's, a popular midwest restaurant, which originated in Lincoln, Nebraska. I used freshly grated Parmesan, which is the only way to go. This was an excellent way to use some of the leftover Honeysliced ham from the holidays. Don't let the idea of ham in pasta sauce scare you away. It's far better than you might think. Do note: As at least one other reviewer has suggested, you only need 3/4 of the pasta in a one pound package. There isn't enough sauce for the full pound of pasta. The pasta really soaks up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
I worked at an Italian Kitchen quite a few years ago and every Sunday the owner's wife would make a dish just like this one. She had a little drizzled eggs in hers, which I also added when I made it...needless to say, this recipe was TO DIE FOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
A very good recipe. A good sub for the very cream is evaporated milk which will make all alfredo recipes less costly and healthier without any sacrifice in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was terrific! I did as others had suggested and added diced onions and garlic to the ham. I would guess about three tablespoons of onion and one heaping teaspoon of garlic. The ham, onion, and garlic together reached the two cup line in my measuring cup before I heated them all together. I also only used 3/4 of the box of fettucine. The sauce could have handled the whole box, perhaps, but I thought it was just right this way. I would have tried either adding peas or mushrooms, but my picky 11 year old would have certainly turned up her nose at it then. After eating it, I think the mushrooms would be the way to go, although the recipe is great without them. Thank you for a terrific recipe that I will be making again. My fussy daughter even loved it, and that is saying alot! She hates to try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
Pretty good - nice way to use up ham. The cream scared me so I subbed in a can of chicken broth and some 2% milk. Used quite a bit of minced garlic, some red pepper flakes and threw in some frozen green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
what a wonderful recipe! I added some garlic with the ham and butter and I think I put too much pasta in. I used a whole box and it was a little too dry but next time it will be perfect with only 3/4 box of fettucine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was very easy and tasty! I made the cream sauce just as the recipe states, but I also added some stuff. I sauteed garlic, mushrooms, the ham, and spinach with black pepper, italian seasoning, and basil. I also added an additional 1/2 of cheese (I used the 3 cheese blend) and 1/2 cup of pasta water. It was delicious but it made a ton!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I tried this because of all the great reviews. Sorry, but I didn't like this at all. Fettuccine alfredo goes much much better with chicken than ham. I used leftovers from a delicious spiral ham I had made ... wish I just would have heated up the ham instead. I won't make this one again, but it might just be my taste is different than the other reviewers. It wasn't exactly bad ... just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

To-Die-For Fettuccine Alfredo

See how to make a rich and delicious fettuccine Alfredo.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States