Fettuccine Alfredo V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I used this recipe as a side dish, but it could take center stage too, with the addition of chicken or shrimp. I wouldn't change a thing, though because I forgot that the directions of recipes don't change when scaling, I mistakenly only used two cups of Parmesan cheese, instead of four cups (I doubled the recipe). Honestly, I couldn't tell anything was wrong and didn't discover my error until after all was said and done. Though in restrospect, the sauce was thinner than one might expect. My discriminate wife rated this one a 9 on a scale of 1 to 10. I would certainly agree. It's a fabulous recipe. I bought a more expensive brand of Parmesan cheese and grated it immediately before use, and I highly recommend doing that. Spending a couple more bucks to get good cheese is definitely worth the investment. I've tried and reviewed over 200 recipes at allrecipes, many of them very good, and this one is certainly in the top 10%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This recipe is great! Definitely a keeper because it is rich, creamy, and has a good flavor. It also does not separate like some other recipes that I've tried. HOWEVER, I am surprised that no one has really commented that 5 cloves of garlic is a bit too much. Don't get me wrong, we LOVE garlic, but 5 cloves??? We only used 3 cloves and it was still very strong. I can't even imagine what 5 cloves would taste like! Unless you want your sauce to be overpowered by the garlic, cut down to 2 or 3 cloves. We also used regular whipping cream instead of heavy whipping cream and it turned out perfectly. NOTE: For those of you who got a lumpy sauce, don't use the Kraft parmesan that is in the green can! That stuff has been processed and will not melt correctly. You must use the stuff that is in the refrigerated cheese section of your grocery store. You can find them in wedges or preshredded bags, but it must be fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I was a little skeptical of this recipe because of the garlic and raw egg but I saw so many positive comments in the reviews that I decided to select this one over all the ones posted on this site. I made this in addition to the ham meal for Christmas and it was a huge hit. The fettucini alfredo connoisseurs at the table said it was "to die for". I would definitely recommend this. The only thing I did different was to add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
Fantastic alfredo recipe!! Real parmesan cheese and raw egg are key to a good alfredo. You don't really even need the garlic (although I put garlic into anything I can and it's great in this!). For those who have yet to try true Parmesan cheese, parmigiano reggiano, 'cuz grating it looks like too much work...if you have a food processor or blender, just cut it up into chunks, throw it in and give it a bunch of pulses...out comes finely grated cheese. It's so worth the extra few minutes effort for this sauce. Delicious recipe!!!! Thank you Greg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Rich, creamy, and oh so good - not for those of us counting calories (I don't even want to know)! I highly recommend using unsalted butter and cutting back the garlic to 2-3 cloves and using fresh parsley as opposed to dried. I also added a pinch of nutmeg. I used half parmesan and half romano but might use half parmesan/half asiago next time. My husband loved this and said it's better than anything you get at a restaurant. We served it over pasta with grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This puppy is a show stopper. health freaks need not apply! great as a side dish with blackened chicken or fish. Ease up on the garlic if your not a lover. Make this for a first date and there will definitely be a second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This was EXCELLENT! I added mushrooms! I served with salad and the "Great Garlic Bread" off this site..it was better than going out to eat..I was proud of myself!! :) thanks again Greg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I have made this recipe lots of times and would strongly reccomend it. Everyone says it tastes like- or is better than- restaurant fettucine alfredo. Very quick and easy! I boil a couple of chicken breasts, slice and toss them with the sauce and pasta. Gourmet comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
If you love garlic & cheese this is a great recipe. I decided to use a little less garlic next time as 5 cloves is a bit overpowering. I found that when you first add the 2nd cup of cheese the texture is very gooey but if you keep wisking it at a low temp. it will thin out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2003
A hit! I Decreased butter as others said, and sauted 6 oz prosciutto with the garlic. I had no cream so I used whole milk and thickend it with some cornstarch. I also added 10oz box of frozen peas to the pasta in the last few minutes of boiling. Next time I may use more milk/cream to stretch the oh-so-good alfredo sauce a little further! My husband said it was a great meal to come home to, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

To-Die-For Fettuccine Alfredo

See how to make a rich and delicious fettuccine Alfredo.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States