Fettuccine Alfredo III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This is alfredo as it was invented in Rome in 1914, by Alfredo Di Lelio, not what has become popularly known as alfredo in America with the addition of cream. Italian American alfredo would be more like fettucine alla panna or alla crema. Kudos to this memeber for putting the true Alfredo in the recipe index.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This is an excellent way to prepare fettuccine alfredo. I would definitely recommend that you use real butter and do not substitute with margarine because it will not taste the same. Also, make sure that you are using freshly grated parmesan cheese. Reserve the pasta water while draining and then add the butter to the noodles and toss together until it melts. Then add your parmesan and a little bit of the reserved pasta water as it will give the alfredo a nice creamy texture without the need to add heavy cream. Sprinkle the top with some more freshly grated parmesan and fresh ground pepper and it tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I loved this recipe. I do like my alfredo a litle creamy, though. So I added equal amounts of flour and butter and a little cream before adding most of the cheese to the mix. I also tossed my noodles separetly in some hot olive oil instead of the butter. Family said it was delicious! I think I'll try it unaltered next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This works great and is fast and easy. I did use much less butter, but that way the flavor of the Parmesan shows through better. I added some roast chicken (leftovers from the Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style recipe on this site), artichoke hearts and chopped broccoli which are my favorite throw-ins with alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I don't use quite as much butter and I add extra cheese, but the simplicity of this dish is amazing. Fresh cracked pepper is a must. The burst of flavor you get when you crunch down on the peppercorn pieces is so satisfying. This is a regular dish at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is really good for something so simple to make. It only takes about 5-10 minutes to cook and put together, which is why I LOVE it because it's something you can do last-minute or when you dont have many ingredients on hand. But I made some changes. Since I'm on a diet, I used about 6-7tbsp butter, and added olive oil, some milk and white cooking wine to it. I also added Italian-seasoned chicken. Personally, I don't think it needs to be changed but if you don't like "simple" tasting food, you should add extra kicks to it. Four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe. I have made it for years with these changes. 2 tbsp. butter 1 lb. sliced fresh mushrooms 1/2 c. dry white wine 2 tbsp. chopped parsley 1/2 c. chicken stock 8 slices thinly sliced ham, cut in strips 2 c. whipping cream 1 lb. spinach fettuccine 1/2 c. Parmesan cheese Heat butter, saute mushrooms until soft. Add wine and parsley and simmer until all liquid has evaporated. Add chicken stock and bring to a boil, allow to reduce until slightly thickened. Add cream and ham, boil until reduced to half original amount. Add sauce to cooked pasta and toss. Add cheese and toss again. Salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
was not very good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is better with much less butter, maybe 1/4 cup, 2/3 cup parmesan cheese and lots of water from boiling the pasta, as needed. This is the original alfredo sauce, I was there. JK ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Really good. Not as creamy as most alfredo but still very good. Easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crazycook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

To-Die-For Fettuccine Alfredo

See how to make a rich and delicious fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States