Feta and Bacon Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I did not use the butter, but only the drippings from the bacon. I used only 2Tbs of flour to reduce the thickness of the sauce, based on other reviews. With this change, I thought the sauce was a perfect thickness. My family would prefer less cheese, so I will reduce the amount next time. I agree that this recipe is not pretty, but it tastes great. We had it over penne. This is a very quick and easy meal, and gives me more ways to use up the various homemade cheeses I make. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Just made this recipe because I had everything on hand. Husband and daughter loved it and asked that I make it again. I used feta with sundried tomato and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
After reading other reviews, I added a few things suggested by others such as white pepper and used the bacon fat to start my roux. I used shallots instead of leeks and I also added a clove of garlic. I also sauteed some spinach leaves with the bacon and added thyme (as suggested by someone), and salt to the sauce cause the sauce by itself was chalky as others said. The suace was extremely thick and I was going to add chicken broth, but I didn't have any, so I added water instead to loosen the sauce up. After all of my additions, the sauce was rather tasty. I used this sauce with lightly fried chicken breast over linguine. Very tasty. Thanks for giving us something to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
my hubby loved this sauce. I followed the recipe except made the roux sauce with the bacon and leeks, once thickened I added the feta and simmered ten minutes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
good flavor, but much too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This came out great. I did not have leeks so I used onion powder at the end. I think I will try crumbled goat cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Didn't use the bacon because that just sounded gross.... just made it into a cream sauce, was ok but the feta didn't completely melt and hardened quickly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I started making this when I was 16. Great hit with my family and I like to make my own custom versions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
very tasty, made substitutions with what I had on hand, heavy whipping cream, asiago and onions. I wished that I had put in salt and garlic. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Although it's not the prettiest dish, it is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayceeP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States