Feta Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This almost seems like a restaurant-quality style soup. I subbed a pound can of diced tomatoes (undrained) for the fresh tomatoes. I didn't blend it either. It was fine. This is a soup you have to finish the day it's made or the shrimp will become tough with reheating - no matter how gently you do it. I used reduced fat feta & added it to individual bowls instead of the pot. It sank right away. Some garlic croutons, or even toasted garlic bread would be a good suggestion for each bowl. Then, when you add the feta it has a "raft" & can be better distributed with each spoonful instead of the last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Yummy. I used diced canned tomatoes in place of the fresh and then used seeded and diced roma tomatoes and parsley for the garnish. Served with fresh rolls, we really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I followed this recipe to the "T" 100%... and it was sensational! The fresh parsley in the end gave it that fresh tasting *pop* that only fresh parsley can give! It put it over the top for us! It was like something you'd taste in a 5 star restaurant! LOVE THIS! ***NOTE - I am going to try making the soup the night before I need it BUT will NOT ADD the shrimp until I serve the soup the next day. I'll simmer it 3 min to reheat/and cook the shrimp. I think this will work. ***NEW NOTE*** I have since made this using chicken broth as a substitute for the clam juice and I could not tell any difference in the delicious flavor. Chicken broth is much more economical then using the clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Fantastic soup! My guests raved about this soup and asked for the recipe. I omitted the cheese, but served the soup topped with a crouton made of a slice of asiago cheese bread topped with fresh garlic, parmesan cheese and butter for a more elegant presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREDA3G2B2G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! I made it just as written except that I left out the butter and oil. It had a lot of flavor and didn't need any salt or other taste enhancers added to it. A very good low-sodium dish that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
EXCELLENT! So good! I used hand held emulsion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very good! I did make two small changes. Used canned tomatoes that I cut up quickly and used broth in place of clam juice (didnt have any). It was great! I will be making this again, topped with croutons too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is so good! We used cooking sherry instead of the dry white wine and fat free feta cheese. It came out great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Owls Head, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was good and not nearly as rich as I thought it would be. I used herbed feta, and basil instead of parsley. I think it could use another clove of garlic, and maybe a garnish of black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
When making this, I admittedly cheated and used canned plum tomatoes, however, it probably didn't taste much different. This really was quite good, if not a little bit fishy. The amount of clam juice was a bit too much for me, but otherwise, the shrimp and feta complimented each other nicely. Thanks for sharing, Catherine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States