Feta Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I was in the mood for a bisque, and tried this. This soup is not brothy, so it was a good choice. I am a novice cook, and my husband really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
I mde this soup this evening..worried my picky hubby wouldn't like it..he loved it!!!! and so did I....what a nice change from the basic chicken or beef stock....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Um...this was OK. I like the feta idea, but it was a little gritty in the soup. I may try this one again minus the feta and add some basil to the puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PuffNoodle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Golden Isles, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This almost seems like a restaurant-quality style soup. I subbed a pound can of diced tomatoes (undrained) for the fresh tomatoes. I didn't blend it either. It was fine. This is a soup you have to finish the day it's made or the shrimp will become tough with reheating - no matter how gently you do it. I used reduced fat feta & added it to individual bowls instead of the pot. It sank right away. Some garlic croutons, or even toasted garlic bread would be a good suggestion for each bowl. Then, when you add the feta it has a "raft" & can be better distributed with each spoonful instead of the last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Fantastic soup! My guests raved about this soup and asked for the recipe. I omitted the cheese, but served the soup topped with a crouton made of a slice of asiago cheese bread topped with fresh garlic, parmesan cheese and butter for a more elegant presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was delicious and easy to make. I used my immersion blender to save myself the trouble of tranferring the soup to the blender. It worked fine and earned rave reviews from my husband. I used precooked and shelled shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
good flavor. it would make a good lunch or side for dinner. we made it for dinner and on it's own it didn't leave us satified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Made this exactly as written, except I forgot to add in the parsley in the end. BUt it is one of my favorite soups now. I don't think my kids would like it, but us grown-ups sure did. My Feta was mixed through out the soup and didn't sink. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
When making this, I admittedly cheated and used canned plum tomatoes, however, it probably didn't taste much different. This really was quite good, if not a little bit fishy. The amount of clam juice was a bit too much for me, but otherwise, the shrimp and feta complimented each other nicely. Thanks for sharing, Catherine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I made this soup for supper. Turned out great as posted! Friends came by and said hmmm it smells like the Luna in here. I'll do this for lunch this New Years. Nice job Catherine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PiknPekr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States