Feta Cheese with Basil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
My husband didn't prefer these flavors blended together, but I thought it made for a unique salad. I might throw a few of the ingredients together again when dining alone, but will eliminate, or decrease, the green onions next time, simply due to those having somewhat of an overpowering flavor compared to such delicious other ingredients. Made for a quick side item, and meal, when paired with baked chicken breast sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I had this salad at my sister's last night. I made her put it back in the fridge so I didn't eat the entire salad, it was so good! The avocado adds a rich taste and texture that is normally missing in a salad with an oil and vinegar dressing. I think it would also be great with chopped, cooked chicken breast for a light supper salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Don't leave anything out of this salad. I thought the walnuts and avocado would make it weird, but they are perfect in the salad. The only thing I changed was using green olives because I ran out of kalamanta. Let it sit for at least an hour before serving for better flavors. It was perfect eaten with some homemade foccacia bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This was a delicious recipe! I have made it several times so far since salads are great summer food. Once or twice I used dried basil instead of fresh because my plant was not big enough and it was still delicious. I have also added some roasted red peppers in there and that was a great addition as well. We will continue to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
just a matter of personal taste, i thought the green onions in the recipe overpowered all of the other ingredients. next time i will make it and omit the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Great salad with a myriad of options. The olives provide a slight saltiness that blends well and would be complemented with a bread. I left out the avacado and still had many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLIFFCOFFMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was delicious but very rich. I omitted the walnuts because of personal preference (I did taste the salad with a few, but I didn't think they added much flavor--just a nice crunch), and I used black olives because I didn't have kalamata. I used 4 oz of feta instead of 6 oz, because that's the size of the container I had, but I think next time I'll use about half that amount. The basil added such a wonderful flavor, and the creamy avocado gave the dish a great texture. It didn't make the greatest leftovers, though--best eaten on the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This was pretty good. I mistook it for a main-coarse salad and it wasn't until I had almost finished prepping it that I realized it really needed some lettuce to help stretch it and help calm down to sharpness of the feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I loved loved loved this recipe, and so did the rest of my family. Definitely want to serve right away. VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Very good... and healthy. I didn't have any walnuts or avocado on hand, but added cucumber instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States