Feta Cheese Foldovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I made this for a baby shower and it was a big hit! But I made several changes to give it more color and flavor, per other people's suggestions. I used garlic/herb feta cheese and added 2 T. chopped black olives, 1/2 c. toasted almond slices, 1/4 c. roasted red peppers, chopped and one more egg. Also, I used phyllo shells instead of the pastry dough. This was MUCH EASIER! I scooped 1 t. into each shell and baked at 350 for 5-8 min. The colorful ingredients made for a great presentation in the shells. I recommend buying 60 shells (4 boxes) for this recipe. Also, I made the feta mixture ahead of time and froze it. Then thawed overnight before baking and serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
These were a hit at a Christmas party recently. Instead of doing the foldovers, I put the mixture in little mini fillo dough shells (in the freezer section) That cut the prep time down to 3 min! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
These were very good. My family enjoyed them a lot. I made these in advance, froze them and thawed in the fridge overnight and followed the heating instructions. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is my favorite appetizer recipe and they go like hotcakes every time I make them. I use Athenos feta, double the green onions, and add diced red bell pepper to 1/2 of the mixture so I can offer two different flavors. I think brushing them with the egg mixture makes them look a lot nicer, and you definitely have to let them cook until they are puffy and golden brown. They stay very hot inside for a long time, so warn your guests to be careful if they grab them right out of the oven! Next time I will try the flavored feta cheeses, as other reviewers have recommended, for a little zing. But, these are melt in your mouth delicious just the way they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
I used mediterranean flavored feta cheese (pre-packaged with chopped olives & sun dried tomatoes) and also added cooked, diced chicken. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This is an appetizer that looks more difficult to make than it is. It's really very easy to put together and the pastries have a nice taste. Based on some of the reviews, I used feta with sun dried tomatoes and basil instead of plain feta. I would like to try them with the plain feta to see which I like better. I did have some trouble sealing the dough (maybe I was too greedy with the filling) but I was pleased that the cheese didn't leak out all over during baking. Although I just made them for my husband and me, I wouldn't hesitate to make them for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
This is a wonderful recipie! I've used these several times as an appetizer for dinner parties -- every time I get requests for the recipie. Absolutely wonderful served with fresh fruit -- white grapes, strawberries, or honeydew melon! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I USED TO USE PHYLLO DOUGH BUT THIS IS MUCH QUICKER AND MUCH MUCH EASIER. IT COMES OUT OF THE OVEN NICE AND FLUFFY. THIS IS A GREAT TASTING RECIPE. THIS IS AN EASY FIVE STARS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Absolutely delicious!! Couldn't make enough of these to please the family. Wonderful appetizer and very easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIGGETYDOGGIE
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
These can make anyone look like a caterer! I've made these several times now and everyone loves them. I use quite a bit more green onion, and I also add toasted pine nuts (the key is "toasted"!) which give a wonderful crunch. Pine nuts can be a little spendy so sometimes I use toasted slivered almonds. They are a tad time-consuming to prepare, but can easily be done the day before - just cover tightly with plastic wrap and pop them in the fridge/freezer, then brush on the egg yolk right before you put them in the oven. The fork-sealed edges are the key to the professional look! *** NEW TIP ***: After making these for years, I decided to try and simplify by making them pinwheel-style (see photo) and it worked out perfectly. I just thawed both of the puff pastry sheets, equally divided the mixture between both sheets (width-wise), rolled them up, sealed the seams with water, and then carefully cut each log into 12 pieces using a sharp serrated bread knife (a non-serrated knife would squish them). Somehow this made them even more addictive than the triangle version :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Brooklyn Mac & Cheese

This "ooey, gooey" super comforting Mac and Cheese recipe is so easy to make!

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States