Feta Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I rolled this up and made a "dirty snowball" which was surrounded with some black olive penguins (another recipe from allrecipes.com So cute. The feta cheese ball is delicious. I recommend using organic cream cheese. I think it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was delicious, and it tided everyone over before our Christmas dinner. I halved the recipe, as we only had 8 people, but kept the 4 oz. of feta. Served with Sun Dried Tomato and Basil Wheat Thins, this was a big hit. It almost tastes like Boursin, which is wonderful. I loved that I already had everything to make it, and it was a cinch to throw everything in my Kitchenaid mixer and let it do the work. This ones goes in the permanent file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I have made this several times and everyone loves it. I usually increase the amount of feta because my family likes lots of feta and garnish with paprika. I have frozen the second ball wrapping it in press-n-seal. You would never know that it had been frozen. Always good to have something in the freezer to pull out when short on time to take to a friend's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I doubled the amount of feta cheese and followed the rest of the recipe, except I put the mixture into 4 ramekins instead of making a cheese ball. I used 1 for a party and froze the other 3 for the holidays. Good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annclark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I make this for nearly every pot luck and never come home with any. It's fantastic. I don't bother making it into balls - I just put it in a pretty serving dish. Tastefully Simple's dill dip is an easy & tasty substitute for the dill weed & oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made and served this at my sister wedding reception. It was an all appetizer reception that I catered. I doubled the recipe and it made four very large cheese balls. I had to play a bit with the ingredient amounts since it is a known rule of thumb when cooking and doubling recipes the herbs and seasonings should never be doubled, but only half again as much should be used. Taste it and add more if needed, remembering that the flavors will develop and deepen the longer the dish is allowed to rest before serving. Technically I only doubled the cream cheese. After adding and adjusting the herbs, seasonings, garlic and onions I added double the amount of feta as other reviewers suggested. Although the herbs and seasoning tasted appropriate for developing flavor nicely, I felt the cream cheese still over powered the taste of the feta so I added 8 oz more. I basically used 6 times the amount of feta originally called for. This was perfect! But then I'm a true cheese fanatic! ;) Looked so pretty on a silver platter with curly parley tucked all around it to frame it. Every one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Delicious! Made this for a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I followed the recipe just how it states - but rolled it into one long log then rolled in fresh parsley. I brought it to Christmas dinner/brunch with a few choices of hearty crackers and out of the 4 other similiar type appetizer's it was the only one to be completely gone! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very good! I put less dill and olive oil than the recipe called for. I put more feta than the recipe called for as well. I think the onions made it a little bitter tasting, so I think I'll leave those out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwing10101010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
GREAT! Like others, I cut the amount of olive oil to 1-2T, and halved the dill and oregano. I used 3 garlic cloves, and thought it was a little strong, so will probably use 2 next time. I love feta (which is why I picked this recipe) so I doubled that. It was so good, and different from other cheese balls. It was a big hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by killernuts0802

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States