Festive Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
this is a great recipe, they turned out great. I did not cut them out, I use about a tablespoonful at a time and rolled them into ball and pressed red and green cherries in the centre for the Christmas look. They looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This is THE classic recipe for traditional Scottish shortbread (the ONLY shortbread) The others pale in comparison. Ironically, the simplest and easiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef maggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I love this recipe!!! I've used it like 3 times and people love them. Thank you so much for this quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I was so pleased with the results of this recipe. They were rich tasting and my family loved them. I'm going to make some to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
ABSOLUTELY THE BEST CUT-OUT COOKIES EVER!!!!!!!THEY'RE GONE!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I can't believe how good this recipe is! I can finally make cookies I am not ashamed to serve my MOM!! Thank you! I can't wait til the holidays to bring these over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I was in the mood to experiment with a recipe that I could use to make cookies on a stick. This was a winner. Nice buttery flavor and the sticks stayed in the cookies. These also held up to the handling when I iced them. I did add some vanilla to the recipe. I am going to try lemon or almond as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
yummm....tastes great and so simple to make. if you are using cookie cutters i would recommend using larger ones as it was tough to get the smaller shapes to turn out right with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is a wonderful and very easy recipe to make. I had so many requests for it this year I had to make 500 cookies. I found that with about a quarter of a cup less flour it worked great and was much easier, and faster in a cookie press. I decorated with M&M's and Rosebuds which bake with a wonderful toasted chocolate taste. This is my third year making them and will make this recipe for years to come. Everyone in my family has requested the recipe, and asked that I bring it every year for Xmas. Merry Christmas everyone :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Just what a shortbread is supposed to be: not too sweet, and when you break it apart, you can see the flaky layers :) What I liked about this one is that it keeps its shape and crumbles IN your mouth, not before you get it there. And, if you're a clumsy one like me, no worries...when you drop them, they don't break! After years of searching, this is going to be my shortbread recipe. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States