Festive Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We didn't really like this shortbread recipe. The dough was easy to work with and held its shape well but I found the cookies bland. They tasted too much like flour. I would suggest reducing the amount of flour in the recipe if you are going to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
These taste pretty good - light, crispy and buttery - but mine did not keep their shape at all. I'm hardly the world's best cookie maker, so I'm not surprised they didn't work for me. Oh well. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I just made a batch of Valentine cut-out cookies for my kids school's birthday party. The dough is extremely easy to handle unlike other cutout cookie recipes I have used. I like them as they are not too sweet but my kids find them just 'okay'. I put 'red sugar sprinkles' for decoration. They come out rather pretty. I will make it again for cut-out cookies. I have added 1/2 tsp of vanilla; but I may add another 1/2 tsp next time to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is a wonderful and very easy recipe to make. I had so many requests for it this year I had to make 500 cookies. I found that with about a quarter of a cup less flour it worked great and was much easier, and faster in a cookie press. I decorated with M&M's and Rosebuds which bake with a wonderful toasted chocolate taste. This is my third year making them and will make this recipe for years to come. Everyone in my family has requested the recipe, and asked that I bring it every year for Xmas. Merry Christmas everyone :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
this is a great recipe, they turned out great. I did not cut them out, I use about a tablespoonful at a time and rolled them into ball and pressed red and green cherries in the centre for the Christmas look. They looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
yummm....tastes great and so simple to make. if you are using cookie cutters i would recommend using larger ones as it was tough to get the smaller shapes to turn out right with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I was in the mood to experiment with a recipe that I could use to make cookies on a stick. This was a winner. Nice buttery flavor and the sticks stayed in the cookies. These also held up to the handling when I iced them. I did add some vanilla to the recipe. I am going to try lemon or almond as well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I can't believe how good this recipe is! I can finally make cookies I am not ashamed to serve my MOM!! Thank you! I can't wait til the holidays to bring these over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
This would be great as a base for something, like jam and fruit. It's a bit bland. Still, I can see using this for nice teas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This is a great recipe, with few ingredients. It tastes exactly like the authentic Scottish shortbread I had at the Highland Games this year at Ligonier, PA. Only reason it has 4 stars is because roll-out and cut cookies are so much more time consuming than drop cookies. They are not too sweet, but very rich and would be delicious paired with a dark roast coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States