Festive Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This turned out great. The only thing I did to it was add 1 tsp. vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Excellent and delicate shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I love the flavor of these cookies... but the dough keeps crumbling when I roll it out to cut it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lahnalove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laporte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as stated and they turned out perfectly! Friends were so eager to take them home when I made them for the first time yesterday, that I've had to make more today! For those reviewers that found the dough too hard to handle/sticky, I suggest perhaps the dough was not chilled enough. Also, rolling out the dough between greaseproof/wax paper might help. I added vanilla extract in my second batch, and although delicious, I think I prefer them just as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe is awesome. I had my husband measure out the flour and he used a wet measuring cup and it still worked out great. I will keep this for years. To counteract the "lack" of seasoning other reviewers complained about -- we added about 1/2 tsp of freshly-grated nutmeg. It gives the cookies a hint of flavor. These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My dough ended up being a little crumbly but the cookies tasted awesome. Thank you for sharing this recipe, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I tried this just his morning and was disappointed. My children did not care for them. There was no taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
The taste of this cookie is the only reason I gave this 3 stars. I doubled the recipe and followed it to a T. When I tried to knead the dough and roll it out - DISASTER. It fell apart, stuck to the well floured/icing sugared rolling pin, and wouldn't cut out. It was a nightmare. Like I said, after 2 hours of working with the dough in SMALL batches and finally getting it to cut out, the taste was awesome. Totally not worth the hassle though. I'll use a different recipe next time because there's other just as tasty but easier to make shortbread cookies out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
For taste, I would give this 10 stars. Melt in your mouth, buttery cookie. Let edges LIGHTLY brown on cookie, too. Brings out the nuttiness of butter. I did try to use this in my cookie press with frustrating results. Could be my press, though. I wrapped up the rest to chill in fridge. Will press into round pans, prick with fork, bake and cut into wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Fantastic! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. I tried over-baking them till they were brown, and they tasted great too. I'm sure everyone would love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States