Festive Prune Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I had some prune juice I didn't know what to do with and came across this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except for I substituted two bananas for the cup of prunes (I didn't have any actual prunes on hand). I also added some chocolate chips. It turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This yields a flavorful and moist cake. For the cooked prunes, I removed the pits and chopped up a cup of prunes, packed fairly tightly. I then added about 3/4 cup of prune juice and cooked them until it became a thickened mash. I followed the reviewers below and substituted the nutmeg, allspice, and clove with 1 rounded teaspoon of cocoa powder. I used a bundt pan (picture above) and the cake was done in 30 minutes. Also, per the reviews below, I used 3/4c sugar. This made the cake perfectly matched for the a glaze. I recomend this festive creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
This cake tastes great and really is so easy to put together but the directions says to bake in 30 minutes. It was a good thing I was looking out for the cake because it only took 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
This was a really beautiful cake and was raved about by everyone who tasted it.I cooked it in a 10inch round tin and it took longer than specified (nearly double the time).It has great keeping qualities and stays beautifully moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I made this today and asked my family what they thought some of the ingedients were. No one guessed prunes! I appreciate being able to make smaller portions and It's nice that the website offers the conversion for recipes...my math is lousy. I am a new member and just love this place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I have made this once so far, following the review that suggested subbing 2 tablespoons cocoa for the nutmeg, etc, stewing the prunes in the prune juice, and halving the sugar. This came out delicious. I topped with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site, but would be fine plain. I was expecting a pumpkin or banana bread type texture but it yields a moist and fluffy cake which calls for topping. This recipe is great for using up prune juice because a whole bottle is hard to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I adapted this to work with my amish cinnamon bread starter. So rich, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorchester, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I have searched for this recipe for years. My mother used to make it at the holidays and this appears to be exactly it. The only thing I did different was frost it with cream cheese frosting, very moist and tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I love this cake with coffee glaze. even my fincky 11 yr old ate it... w/o complaint. She didn't believe me that it was prunes... The recipe is great as is.. but 2nd time around I made the following changes: reduce the salt to 3/4 tsp., exchanged shortening for butter, and I boiled 1 c. prunes w/ 1 c. water and pureed it... omitting the prune juice as I didn't have any. I added 1 container of baby food prunes. I'm going to try to make a lower fat/calorie version today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Delicious! But do cut the sugar by half, since the prunes are very sweet already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States