Festive Prune Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2000
This cake tastes great and really is so easy to put together but the directions says to bake in 30 minutes. It was a good thing I was looking out for the cake because it only took 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
This was a really beautiful cake and was raved about by everyone who tasted it.I cooked it in a 10inch round tin and it took longer than specified (nearly double the time).It has great keeping qualities and stays beautifully moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I made this today and asked my family what they thought some of the ingedients were. No one guessed prunes! I appreciate being able to make smaller portions and It's nice that the website offers the conversion for recipes...my math is lousy. I am a new member and just love this place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
this was delicious and light. too sweet for me though. next time i'll cut the sugar by 1/4 cup and see. i made this with gluten free flours, a straight 1:1 substitution and it's perfect. i boiled the prunes in prune juice, and then topped up what was left to make the 1 cup. nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
A tasty, moist cake. I followed one reviewer's suggestion and boiled the prunes in prune juice, then strained them and added more juice to make up the 1 cup. My other changes to the recipe were: cutting the sugar by half (you won't miss it)and adding a few tablespoons of cocoa powder. I omitted the clove, nutmeg and allspice for this one. The chocolate prune combination turned out very yummy without being too rich or sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I have made this once so far, following the review that suggested subbing 2 tablespoons cocoa for the nutmeg, etc, stewing the prunes in the prune juice, and halving the sugar. This came out delicious. I topped with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site, but would be fine plain. I was expecting a pumpkin or banana bread type texture but it yields a moist and fluffy cake which calls for topping. This recipe is great for using up prune juice because a whole bottle is hard to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I adapted this to work with my amish cinnamon bread starter. So rich, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorchester, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I have searched for this recipe for years. My mother used to make it at the holidays and this appears to be exactly it. The only thing I did different was frost it with cream cheese frosting, very moist and tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I love this cake with coffee glaze. even my fincky 11 yr old ate it... w/o complaint. She didn't believe me that it was prunes... The recipe is great as is.. but 2nd time around I made the following changes: reduce the salt to 3/4 tsp., exchanged shortening for butter, and I boiled 1 c. prunes w/ 1 c. water and pureed it... omitting the prune juice as I didn't have any. I added 1 container of baby food prunes. I'm going to try to make a lower fat/calorie version today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Delicious! But do cut the sugar by half, since the prunes are very sweet already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States