Festive Prune Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Delicious! But do cut the sugar by half, since the prunes are very sweet already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I love this cake with coffee glaze. even my fincky 11 yr old ate it... w/o complaint. She didn't believe me that it was prunes... The recipe is great as is.. but 2nd time around I made the following changes: reduce the salt to 3/4 tsp., exchanged shortening for butter, and I boiled 1 c. prunes w/ 1 c. water and pureed it... omitting the prune juice as I didn't have any. I added 1 container of baby food prunes. I'm going to try to make a lower fat/calorie version today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I have searched for this recipe for years. My mother used to make it at the holidays and this appears to be exactly it. The only thing I did different was frost it with cream cheese frosting, very moist and tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I adapted this to work with my amish cinnamon bread starter. So rich, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorchester, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I have made this once so far, following the review that suggested subbing 2 tablespoons cocoa for the nutmeg, etc, stewing the prunes in the prune juice, and halving the sugar. This came out delicious. I topped with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site, but would be fine plain. I was expecting a pumpkin or banana bread type texture but it yields a moist and fluffy cake which calls for topping. This recipe is great for using up prune juice because a whole bottle is hard to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
A tasty, moist cake. I followed one reviewer's suggestion and boiled the prunes in prune juice, then strained them and added more juice to make up the 1 cup. My other changes to the recipe were: cutting the sugar by half (you won't miss it)and adding a few tablespoons of cocoa powder. I omitted the clove, nutmeg and allspice for this one. The chocolate prune combination turned out very yummy without being too rich or sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
this was delicious and light. too sweet for me though. next time i'll cut the sugar by 1/4 cup and see. i made this with gluten free flours, a straight 1:1 substitution and it's perfect. i boiled the prunes in prune juice, and then topped up what was left to make the 1 cup. nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I made this today and asked my family what they thought some of the ingedients were. No one guessed prunes! I appreciate being able to make smaller portions and It's nice that the website offers the conversion for recipes...my math is lousy. I am a new member and just love this place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
This was a really beautiful cake and was raved about by everyone who tasted it.I cooked it in a 10inch round tin and it took longer than specified (nearly double the time).It has great keeping qualities and stays beautifully moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
This cake tastes great and really is so easy to put together but the directions says to bake in 30 minutes. It was a good thing I was looking out for the cake because it only took 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States