Festive Prune Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Used raisins instead of prunes. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Like many others, I made this only because I had some leftover prune juice. But now it's in my recipe box. It tastes like a spice cake--not overly sweet but it definitely hits the sweet spot! Like another reviewer, I added mashed bananas instead of the prunes. (I had those leftover in the freezer as well!) Oh yeah--and I left out the nuts because I didn't have any. Otherwise, no changes. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Looking for a way to use up some prunes and half a bottle of prune juice, I came across this recipe. I made this, not expecting to like it. Prunes are not a favorite of mine, but I didn't want to waste them. I made this deliciously moist spice cake and didn't tell anyone what the ingredients were. When the recipes states; 1 cup prunes, cooked and chopped, I cooked them in 1 cup of the prune juice for about 15 minutes at medium heat. The liquid had cooked out and the prunes were nice and soft. I then continued with the recipe. I poured this in a bundt pan and baked for 30 minutes. I let rest in the pan for 5 minutes; then flipped the pan. I took half a cake into school to have people try it. EVERYONE loved it and could not believe it when I told them what the 2 ingredients were. I would make this again, but not tell people what type of cake it was until after they ate it. The word "prunes" is a turn-off to a lot of people, including myself. I frosted this with 'Maple Butter Frosting' another AR recipe. This is a keeper; just remember to keep the ingredients to yourself until after everyone tries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Sorry I didn't like this at all. Maybe I don't like prunes enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
The taste is popular with my whole family and reminds me of old fashioned molasses cookies because of the spices. Great way to use leftover prune juice! I used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening and 1 cup "baby food" prunes instead of cooked prunes. The second time I made it, I baked in mini-muffin tins and baked for 10 to 12 minutes for a perfect kid-friendly snack-size cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Made exactly as described, except no nuts, and in a tube pan. Turned out perfectly tasty and moist. My toddler really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Love this cake its super yummy! Only used 1/2 cup of sugar & was still sweet, moist & delicious! I don't see why people are so fussy about eating prunes, its only a dried plum! LOL One taste of this cake I'm sure they'll change their minds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I had some prune juice I didn't know what to do with and came across this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except for I substituted two bananas for the cup of prunes (I didn't have any actual prunes on hand). I also added some chocolate chips. It turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This yields a flavorful and moist cake. For the cooked prunes, I removed the pits and chopped up a cup of prunes, packed fairly tightly. I then added about 3/4 cup of prune juice and cooked them until it became a thickened mash. I followed the reviewers below and substituted the nutmeg, allspice, and clove with 1 rounded teaspoon of cocoa powder. I used a bundt pan (picture above) and the cake was done in 30 minutes. Also, per the reviews below, I used 3/4c sugar. This made the cake perfectly matched for the a glaze. I recomend this festive creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Interesting! It was moist and a little sweet. I only made this to please my grandmother who requested it. But the family liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States