Festive Prune Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Awesome! Of course I substituted butter for the shortening. So simple and so delicious. I also boiled the prunes in prune juice and used the reserve in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I like butter too much, this recipe called for shortening. Although it is nice and soft it just misses the yumminess of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Used raisins instead of prunes. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Like many others, I made this only because I had some leftover prune juice. But now it's in my recipe box. It tastes like a spice cake--not overly sweet but it definitely hits the sweet spot! Like another reviewer, I added mashed bananas instead of the prunes. (I had those leftover in the freezer as well!) Oh yeah--and I left out the nuts because I didn't have any. Otherwise, no changes. Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Looking for a way to use up some prunes and half a bottle of prune juice, I came across this recipe. I made this, not expecting to like it. Prunes are not a favorite of mine, but I didn't want to waste them. I made this deliciously moist spice cake and didn't tell anyone what the ingredients were. When the recipes states; 1 cup prunes, cooked and chopped, I cooked them in 1 cup of the prune juice for about 15 minutes at medium heat. The liquid had cooked out and the prunes were nice and soft. I then continued with the recipe. I poured this in a bundt pan and baked for 30 minutes. I let rest in the pan for 5 minutes; then flipped the pan. I took half a cake into school to have people try it. EVERYONE loved it and could not believe it when I told them what the 2 ingredients were. I would make this again, but not tell people what type of cake it was until after they ate it. The word "prunes" is a turn-off to a lot of people, including myself. I frosted this with 'Maple Butter Frosting' another AR recipe. This is a keeper; just remember to keep the ingredients to yourself until after everyone tries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Sorry I didn't like this at all. Maybe I don't like prunes enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
The taste is popular with my whole family and reminds me of old fashioned molasses cookies because of the spices. Great way to use leftover prune juice! I used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening and 1 cup "baby food" prunes instead of cooked prunes. The second time I made it, I baked in mini-muffin tins and baked for 10 to 12 minutes for a perfect kid-friendly snack-size cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Made exactly as described, except no nuts, and in a tube pan. Turned out perfectly tasty and moist. My toddler really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Love this cake its super yummy! Only used 1/2 cup of sugar & was still sweet, moist & delicious! I don't see why people are so fussy about eating prunes, its only a dried plum! LOL One taste of this cake I'm sure they'll change their minds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I had some prune juice I didn't know what to do with and came across this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except for I substituted two bananas for the cup of prunes (I didn't have any actual prunes on hand). I also added some chocolate chips. It turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States