Festive Fresh Blueberry and Cranberry Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I loved this! I've been looking for a cranberry relish that I actually enjoy because cranberries are so good for you. Plus they're a pretty tradition. The blueberries cut the tart/bitterness factor perfectly without overpowering the cranberry flavor. Genius! My only criticism would be that it was a little runnier than I would have preferred. Maybe it's because I used frozen blueberries instead of fresh (the grocery store didn't have fresh the day I needed them), or maybe I simmered too long? Not long enough? Regardless, this will be the cranberry relish I make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Mine was runny, too. Maybe I cooked it too long, but I wanted the cranberries to get really soft. I just added a tablespoon of corn starch at the end to thicken it. But boy, it tastes great. The smell of orange and vanilla smells like a creamsicle and then the berry smell kicks in when it cooks. I'd make this again before company comes just to make my house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Excellent, but 2 small changes: I also found it to be too runny and added a tblspoon of corn starch at the end, and it was still runny. Maybe cutting back the orange juice would help? Also, most of my family thought there was too much vanilla. I'd reduce to a third or so, then add until you are satisfied. This is a re-user, for sure - we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made this last year for Thanksgiving and was asked to bring it again this year- which is saying alot because my family usually doesn't touch cranberry sauce- it was mostly put on the table for the "tradition"aspect. But this is one they actually eat and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is very good! Even people who do not like cranberry sauce liked this. The blueberries help cut how tart it is. I, like the other viewers thought that it was alittle runny so I added 1 Tabls. cornstarch. I still thought it was too runny so I added another 1 Tbls. of cornstarch. This helped thicken it a bit more. This dish can be used in so many different ways. I think it would be good poured over cream cheese served with crackers. I will keep this recipe and it will be a star at every Thanksgiving from now on. Thank you for the great recipe. It is even going in the recipe box of cherished recipes from my granmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
whole new side for chicken and dumplings super holiday dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make! I also added 1 tbsp of corn starch at the end to help thicken it up. Going to use the leftovers on waffles and mix it into plain yogurt. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I made this recipe for the first time this Thanksgiving, it was scrumptious! The blend of flavors, sweetness to tartness is perfect. Just as the others stated it was a bit runnier than I wanted, so I added 2 tsp. cornstarch (I had doubled the recipe). I will never buy or eat canned jellied cranberry sauce again!! Because it was still a bit saucy it was wonderful on French toast the next morning. I can see it on waffles, pancakes, ice cream, etc!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Soo good!! I didn't use orange zest and I did add corn starch after to thicken it up..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States