Festive Fresh Blueberry and Cranberry Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by c
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I just winged it, no measurements. I used the cranberries I had (looked like about two cups), some fresh blueberries and some frozen blueberries to what looked like about a cup, a capful of vanilla, the juice of one orange, and 3/4 cup sugar, but no zest. I threw it all in a pot, cooked 'til it started to boil and the cranberries started popping, and used a masher to the consistency I liked. Delicious! I think if this recipe can withstand my lazy cooking and still be amazing, it should be a winner for anyone. Thank you for the great twist on an old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Maybe it's because I don't know much when it comes to cooking but this was a disaster for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This relish is fabulous! The only reason I am giving it 4 stars is because my neighbor made a relish that I think is better. But don't hesitate to try this one, I am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShandeeV
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is the second year I've made this for Thanksgiving, and it is fabulous! The first year I made it as written, and it was great, however it was a little more runny than I would have liked, as most other people commented on. So this year, since I wanted a larger batch I decided to use two bags of fresh cranberries (12 oz each) and two packages of fresh blueberries (6 oz each. I kept the OJ at only 1 cup, left out the orange zest, and doubled the vanilla. The result was a very jellied cranberry sauce that was perfect! I also added a few sprinkles of cinnamon, which complements it very well. I am not a fan of cranberry, but this is just awesome! Especially on Vanilla Ice Cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShandeeV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I added more blueberries so the proportions were closer to those of the cranberries. The flavor was good, but missing something, so I added some cinnamon and ground cloves to taste. As others mentioned, added cornstarch for a thicker consistency. Also, did not serve chilled, but room temperature. LOVED the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Soo good!! I didn't use orange zest and I did add corn starch after to thicken it up..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I made this recipe for the first time this Thanksgiving, it was scrumptious! The blend of flavors, sweetness to tartness is perfect. Just as the others stated it was a bit runnier than I wanted, so I added 2 tsp. cornstarch (I had doubled the recipe). I will never buy or eat canned jellied cranberry sauce again!! Because it was still a bit saucy it was wonderful on French toast the next morning. I can see it on waffles, pancakes, ice cream, etc!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make! I also added 1 tbsp of corn starch at the end to help thicken it up. Going to use the leftovers on waffles and mix it into plain yogurt. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
whole new side for chicken and dumplings super holiday dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is very good! Even people who do not like cranberry sauce liked this. The blueberries help cut how tart it is. I, like the other viewers thought that it was alittle runny so I added 1 Tabls. cornstarch. I still thought it was too runny so I added another 1 Tbls. of cornstarch. This helped thicken it a bit more. This dish can be used in so many different ways. I think it would be good poured over cream cheese served with crackers. I will keep this recipe and it will be a star at every Thanksgiving from now on. Thank you for the great recipe. It is even going in the recipe box of cherished recipes from my granmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States