Festive Cracker Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This dip is indeed addictive. Very rich, with a nice tangy taste. For those, like me, who enjoy some heat, I'd add some Tobasco, and maybe a pinch of cayenne pepper. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cultmovieguy

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Awesome! This is the closest I've found to my mother's homemade Pimiento Cheese recipe, which was wonderful -- but I can't find it anywhere. Hers was a bit drier and more pungent, this one is creamier and milder. Hers used green olives (like this recipe) rather than just the pimientos, and I've found it hard to get recipes using the olives, so when I stumbled across this recipe, I just had to give it a try. I did leave out the green bell pepper and used 1/3 cup green onion instead of regular onion -- and it's terrific. I did everything according to this recipe except I used a food processor to blend the cheeses and mayo together -- and then I pulsed in the rest of the ingredients -- made things a lot more simple, especially in light of how easy it is to end up with cream cheese all over your kitchen walls with a mixer. If I were to change anything, it would be to use mayo to taste/desired consistency. Otherwise, I have to say, I might like this recipe even more than my mom's b/c it's creamy and more spreadable/dip-able, and not as strong as hers was. And by the way -- this is SO much better than anything you'll buy pre-packaged at the store! Those spreads are far too sweet! FWIW, this is a wonderful recipe -- I will make it again for the upcoming holidays! (I'm thinking about adding some crumbled cooked bacon, too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Delicious and addictive. I doubled the recipe and added some jalapeno's. Everyone wanted the recipe. Suggestion: Be sure to buy the thinly shredded cheese...it mixes better. Thanks for the recipe...I will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
The best!!!! I was a bit apprehensive when I tried this (took it to a New Year's Eve party) but it was gobbled up in no time, with so many people asking for the recipe. It's delicious on crackers, and, as the submitter said, highly addictive. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
The cheese I used was extra sharp white cheddar and I used red bell pepper instead of green (we don't care for green pepper). I added a teaspoon of garlic powder as well as a shake of Frank's Hot Sauce. Dude. We absolutely loved this. There was nothing left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Definitely a keeper...so good and super easy. My stoic husband said, "This is REALLY good!" and for him, that's kind of amazing. I followed the recipe except I omitted the green bell pepper and used green onions instead of regular onion. I think a sweet bell pepper (orange, red or yellow) would have been a great alternative to the green and will try it that way next time. And there will be a next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Made orgininal recipe for Christmas party and it was pretty good. I didn't like the chunkiness factor with the celery but others did. I made it again without celery today and really minced the onion and I like this one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was a cinch to make in the food processor. I used low fat cream cheese and it was still quite tasty. I wasn't sure I was going to like this when I tasted it the day I made it, but an overnight in the fridge was all that was required to make this a hit in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is good but even better warmed up for 10 mins or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Truax

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is sooo good! I didn't put the green peppers in at all, and everyone loved it. The second time I made it, I took out the olives, just because I'm not a huge olive fan. Still wonderful... everyone gobbled it up with Ritz crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States