Festival-Style Grilled Italian Sausage Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Delicious! I used a vidalia onion instead of red and yellow. I also used only green pepper instead of red and green. If I'd had red I would've used it. Also, I used beer instead of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeslieS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Loveee sausage, peppers and onions.....suggestion for this that I really did get from a festival....top with some sauerkraut and you will take it to a whole new level!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Always delicious...I add some italian seasoning in addition to the salt and pepper when cooking the peppers and onions, I also used extra lean hot Italian chicken sausauge to cut on fat and calories....family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Mmmmm! I just baked mine in the oven (we don't have a grill) and cooked the peppers/onions on the stovetop. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
tastes like a chicago dog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
We love sausage, peppers and onions but I dislike the smell of it cooking in the house. This recipe doesn’t disappoint. I removed the sausage from their casings and made miniature patties for ease in grilling. I made the Crusty French bread recipe on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Sausage, peppers and onions are a staple at our home. We make them all summer long and even in the winter too. We also add a slice or two of Provolone cheese (went to those Italian festivals as well). If it's winter and you don't want to spend a lot of time at the grill. Here's a shortcut that is equally good. Par broil your sausages in a skillet, so that when you put on grill you're only browning them. I slice two green peppers and one large onion, put in skillet with a few tablespoons of butter, pepper, garlic powder. Cook them down til they are nice and soft, some edges browned. Do that at the same time your sausages are par boiling. Throw your sausages on the grill for a few minutes. Dress your buns with the slice of cheese, sausage, heaping of peppers and onions, then topped with a good mustard. Heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Delicious and easy! We sliced the bell peppers and onions used a grill basket to cook them. Next time I will try spreading some olive oil and garlic over the bread and toasting them lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Oh my, there's nothing quite so tasty as a grilled Italian sausage sandwich! My husband and I are no strangers to making these and definitely feel you shouldn't have to wait for summer to have such a treat. We use both hot and sweet sausage and use red and green peppers along with the onion. We love grilling veggies and these give the sandwiches a nice smokiness. Be sure not to poke the sausages as you'll end up releasing all of those wonderful juices. I put my rolls under the broiler to get them nice and toasty. My husband tops his sandwich off with a spicy brown mustard, but I always top mine off with marinated cherry tomatoes. I cut them in half and marinate them at room temp. in a mix of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, a bit of kosher salt, basil and oregano. For a quick and easy meal there's nothing that beats this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
this was recommended to me and am glad...i used both red and green peppers and mild italian sausage i so thought it was great comfort food and i made my own buns/rolls for them...thanx for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Italian Sausage Grinder

See how to make a classic Italian sausage grinder.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States