Festival-Style Grilled Italian Sausage Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This was great! If you can't grill them, rub them with olive oil and bake in 350 oven for forty minutes, turning after 20 minutes. Do not prick them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Delicious! I used a vidalia onion instead of red and yellow. I also used only green pepper instead of red and green. If I'd had red I would've used it. Also, I used beer instead of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeslieS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Loveee sausage, peppers and onions.....suggestion for this that I really did get from a festival....top with some sauerkraut and you will take it to a whole new level!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Always delicious...I add some italian seasoning in addition to the salt and pepper when cooking the peppers and onions, I also used extra lean hot Italian chicken sausauge to cut on fat and calories....family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Mmmmm! I just baked mine in the oven (we don't have a grill) and cooked the peppers/onions on the stovetop. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
tastes like a chicago dog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
We love sausage, peppers and onions but I dislike the smell of it cooking in the house. This recipe doesn’t disappoint. I removed the sausage from their casings and made miniature patties for ease in grilling. I made the Crusty French bread recipe on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Sausage, peppers and onions are a staple at our home. We make them all summer long and even in the winter too. We also add a slice or two of Provolone cheese (went to those Italian festivals as well). If it's winter and you don't want to spend a lot of time at the grill. Here's a shortcut that is equally good. Par broil your sausages in a skillet, so that when you put on grill you're only browning them. I slice two green peppers and one large onion, put in skillet with a few tablespoons of butter, pepper, garlic powder. Cook them down til they are nice and soft, some edges browned. Do that at the same time your sausages are par boiling. Throw your sausages on the grill for a few minutes. Dress your buns with the slice of cheese, sausage, heaping of peppers and onions, then topped with a good mustard. Heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Delicious and easy! We sliced the bell peppers and onions used a grill basket to cook them. Next time I will try spreading some olive oil and garlic over the bread and toasting them lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Oh my, there's nothing quite so tasty as a grilled Italian sausage sandwich! My husband and I are no strangers to making these and definitely feel you shouldn't have to wait for summer to have such a treat. We use both hot and sweet sausage and use red and green peppers along with the onion. We love grilling veggies and these give the sandwiches a nice smokiness. Be sure not to poke the sausages as you'll end up releasing all of those wonderful juices. I put my rolls under the broiler to get them nice and toasty. My husband tops his sandwich off with a spicy brown mustard, but I always top mine off with marinated cherry tomatoes. I cut them in half and marinate them at room temp. in a mix of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, a bit of kosher salt, basil and oregano. For a quick and easy meal there's nothing that beats this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Italian Sausage Grinder

See how to make a classic Italian sausage grinder.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States