Ferg's Ulster Fry-up Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm from Northern Ireland and you can get this entire meal for 99P or $1.50. We treat ourselves for breakast, lunch or even dinner. Recipes for potato farles and soda scones go back hundreds of years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have this breakfast once a year at my city's Celtic Classic. It truly does fill you up for the day! It's delicious! Diane Kolessar-Berl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Go raibh maith agat, a Ita! Is maith liom é!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Ragan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
yum, yum, this sounds just like i remember it. I am German and have friends in Ireland. Always loved the people and food. now I know a local overprized pub serves a great irish breakfast like this, but I need to find a place get black pudding. oh and bangers too, we love mashed potatoes and bangers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I'm as Irish as they come - lived there, family there, etc and this recipe is great!! Don't forget the sauteed mushrooms and white pudding! Best hangover cure on earth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This has something for every one. I had a modified breakfast of eggs, farl and tomato, and skipped the meat. I was well satisfied, and really did not need to eat again until dinner. Farls are new to me, and I loved both types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. You can also add Cumberland sausage (particularly if you are Scottish!) and fried mushrooms and beans. As a Canadian, I recommend dousing it all in the best maple syrup you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
When this breakfast started frying up, the crowds came running. Then they started jostling each other to get to the goods. Everything looked, smelled, and tasted sooooo amazing! I didn't wash it down with a pint of Guiness...an excellent coffee had to do. Could I eat this every day? Sure! But I'd have fewer days in the long run, and I'd have to run 10 miles a day to work off the calories. It will have to be a once-in-a-while treat. But what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made Ferg's Ulster Fry-up for last year's St Patrick's breakfast, & will make it again this year. I didn't make the mushrooms & blood sausage because I don't like those foods. I made both the Potato & the Soda Farls (on this site, also by Ita). This was very tasty, tho' will enjoy it only a couple of times a year, as it is all fried in bacon fat. The tomato is a great & very tasty addition; its acidity helps to cut the fattiness. I liked the Potato Farl better than the Soda Farl (bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I live in the States, but my Dad's from London, and I have many fond memories of having a "Full English Breakfast" very similar to this one as a kid. For those of us who live in the States and can't get the Irish bacon, sausages and black pudding from our local stores, there are some US-based online companies who offer these goods. I can personally recommend Tommy Moloney's I've ordered from them several times and have been very satisfied. It costs a little more than what you'd find at the supermarket, because of the shipping, but it's worth the splurge every so often. British/Irish rashers (bacon) and sausage are very different from the style we have here. Their bacon is much less fatty than ours. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States