Ferg's Ulster Fry-up Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I'm as Irish as they come - lived there, family there, etc and this recipe is great!! Don't forget the sauteed mushrooms and white pudding! Best hangover cure on earth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. You can also add Cumberland sausage (particularly if you are Scottish!) and fried mushrooms and beans. As a Canadian, I recommend dousing it all in the best maple syrup you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have this breakfast once a year at my city's Celtic Classic. It truly does fill you up for the day! It's delicious! Diane Kolessar-Berl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
yum, yum, this sounds just like i remember it. I am German and have friends in Ireland. Always loved the people and food. now I know a local overprized pub serves a great irish breakfast like this, but I need to find a place get black pudding. oh and bangers too, we love mashed potatoes and bangers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm from Northern Ireland and you can get this entire meal for 99P or $1.50. We treat ourselves for breakast, lunch or even dinner. Recipes for potato farles and soda scones go back hundreds of years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I live in the States, but my Dad's from London, and I have many fond memories of having a "Full English Breakfast" very similar to this one as a kid. For those of us who live in the States and can't get the Irish bacon, sausages and black pudding from our local stores, there are some US-based online companies who offer these goods. I can personally recommend Tommy Moloney's I've ordered from them several times and have been very satisfied. It costs a little more than what you'd find at the supermarket, because of the shipping, but it's worth the splurge every so often. British/Irish rashers (bacon) and sausage are very different from the style we have here. Their bacon is much less fatty than ours. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made Ferg's Ulster Fry-up for last year's St Patrick's breakfast, & will make it again this year. I didn't make the mushrooms & blood sausage because I don't like those foods. I made both the Potato & the Soda Farls (on this site, also by Ita). This was very tasty, tho' will enjoy it only a couple of times a year, as it is all fried in bacon fat. The tomato is a great & very tasty addition; its acidity helps to cut the fattiness. I liked the Potato Farl better than the Soda Farl (bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Go raibh maith agat, a Ita! Is maith liom é!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Ragan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This has something for every one. I had a modified breakfast of eggs, farl and tomato, and skipped the meat. I was well satisfied, and really did not need to eat again until dinner. Farls are new to me, and I loved both types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
When this breakfast started frying up, the crowds came running. Then they started jostling each other to get to the goods. Everything looked, smelled, and tasted sooooo amazing! I didn't wash it down with a pint of Guiness...an excellent coffee had to do. Could I eat this every day? Sure! But I'd have fewer days in the long run, and I'd have to run 10 miles a day to work off the calories. It will have to be a once-in-a-while treat. But what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States