Ferg's Ulster Fry-up Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
When this breakfast started frying up, the crowds came running. Then they started jostling each other to get to the goods. Everything looked, smelled, and tasted sooooo amazing! I didn't wash it down with a pint of Guiness...an excellent coffee had to do. Could I eat this every day? Sure! But I'd have fewer days in the long run, and I'd have to run 10 miles a day to work off the calories. It will have to be a once-in-a-while treat. But what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this for a special St. Patrick's Day breakfast for my family. I love how fast and easy it was to make -- I made it all (minus boiling and mashing the potatoes the night before for the Farl) in 30 mins! I did leave out the black pudding because after reading the ingredients it just didn't sound like something my family or I would like. I had no idea how much this was going to yield! I made everything to the specifications, and it was SO MUCH food! I have a family of 4, and easily could have cut the recipe in half and still had plenty. Like others have said, its not something you would want to have everyday - loaded with fat, carbs, and calories - but for a once-in-a-while treat, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Growing up in an Irish family (Dad was from Northern Ireland) My dad got black pudding and Irish sausages from the Irish butcher shop, they are so good, I live in Pa,USA, now and I can't get black pudding or Irish sausage here. When I visited my relitives in Northern Ireland, they made me this breakfast and it's fantastic. Can't wait to go back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I live in the States, but my Dad's from London, and I have many fond memories of having a "Full English Breakfast" very similar to this one as a kid. For those of us who live in the States and can't get the Irish bacon, sausages and black pudding from our local stores, there are some US-based online companies who offer these goods. I can personally recommend Tommy Moloney's I've ordered from them several times and have been very satisfied. It costs a little more than what you'd find at the supermarket, because of the shipping, but it's worth the splurge every so often. British/Irish rashers (bacon) and sausage are very different from the style we have here. Their bacon is much less fatty than ours. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is belter! Had it may times after a night on the town. Ferg must be a big guy if he eats these all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm from Northern Ireland and you can get this entire meal for 99P or $1.50. We treat ourselves for breakast, lunch or even dinner. Recipes for potato farles and soda scones go back hundreds of years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made Ferg's Ulster Fry-up for last year's St Patrick's breakfast, & will make it again this year. I didn't make the mushrooms & blood sausage because I don't like those foods. I made both the Potato & the Soda Farls (on this site, also by Ita). This was very tasty, tho' will enjoy it only a couple of times a year, as it is all fried in bacon fat. The tomato is a great & very tasty addition; its acidity helps to cut the fattiness. I liked the Potato Farl better than the Soda Farl (bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. You can also add Cumberland sausage (particularly if you are Scottish!) and fried mushrooms and beans. As a Canadian, I recommend dousing it all in the best maple syrup you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This has something for every one. I had a modified breakfast of eggs, farl and tomato, and skipped the meat. I was well satisfied, and really did not need to eat again until dinner. Farls are new to me, and I loved both types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Marvellous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States