Ferg's Ulster Fry-up Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
When this breakfast started frying up, the crowds came running. Then they started jostling each other to get to the goods. Everything looked, smelled, and tasted sooooo amazing! I didn't wash it down with a pint of Guiness...an excellent coffee had to do. Could I eat this every day? Sure! But I'd have fewer days in the long run, and I'd have to run 10 miles a day to work off the calories. It will have to be a once-in-a-while treat. But what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Greaves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This has something for every one. I had a modified breakfast of eggs, farl and tomato, and skipped the meat. I was well satisfied, and really did not need to eat again until dinner. Farls are new to me, and I loved both types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. You can also add Cumberland sausage (particularly if you are Scottish!) and fried mushrooms and beans. As a Canadian, I recommend dousing it all in the best maple syrup you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Marvellous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is belter! Had it may times after a night on the town. Ferg must be a big guy if he eats these all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Growing up in an Irish family (Dad was from Northern Ireland) My dad got black pudding and Irish sausages from the Irish butcher shop, they are so good, I live in Pa,USA, now and I can't get black pudding or Irish sausage here. When I visited my relitives in Northern Ireland, they made me this breakfast and it's fantastic. Can't wait to go back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this for a special St. Patrick's Day breakfast for my family. I love how fast and easy it was to make -- I made it all (minus boiling and mashing the potatoes the night before for the Farl) in 30 mins! I did leave out the black pudding because after reading the ingredients it just didn't sound like something my family or I would like. I had no idea how much this was going to yield! I made everything to the specifications, and it was SO MUCH food! I have a family of 4, and easily could have cut the recipe in half and still had plenty. Like others have said, its not something you would want to have everyday - loaded with fat, carbs, and calories - but for a once-in-a-while treat, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm from Northern Ireland and you can get this entire meal for 99P or $1.50. We treat ourselves for breakast, lunch or even dinner. Recipes for potato farles and soda scones go back hundreds of years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have this breakfast once a year at my city's Celtic Classic. It truly does fill you up for the day! It's delicious! Diane Kolessar-Berl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
yum, yum, this sounds just like i remember it. I am German and have friends in Ireland. Always loved the people and food. now I know a local overprized pub serves a great irish breakfast like this, but I need to find a place get black pudding. oh and bangers too, we love mashed potatoes and bangers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States