Fennel in Wine and Honey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I don't know. This just isn't that good. It isn't BAD, either. I used what I suspect is a too-wide saucepan and the liquid mainly evaporated out, leaving very bland fennel resting on some thick overcooked sauce that honestly isn't anything to write home about. I would give it a three, but I'll go with a four to account for potential user error. Word of caution - use a narrow saucepan so that your fennel gets to steep in the liquid for longer than mine did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I have never been a fan of anise, so I was a little worried about this recipe, but WOW! The anise flavor tones down as the fennel cooks, and the wine, honey, and mustard seed make a marvelous sauce. I cooked the dish a little hotter than suggested (I was in a hurry) and the fennel sort of caramelized on the bottom of the pan. De-lish! Hubby and I ate most of it with dinner last night, and I had the rest for breakfast this morning. We'll definitely be making it again! The only down side... I now have a pile of fennel tops that I don't know what to do with. Guess it's time for more research!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Scanlon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Delicious, subtle fennel flavor! I boil rice in the leftover liquid after and serve the fennel on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I made this last night, approximately halving the recipe and it was really tasty. I love fennel and this is a great (and easy) way to make it. It was just as good today cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I thought this was a good recipe for fennel. The flavor was really good. I used just a little bit less honey and a tiny bit more mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Very easy and good. A nice change. I used water instead of chicken broth, and I think using chicken broth will make it even better. Also, next time I make this I'm going to crush the mustard seed or cook the mustard seed in the oil on high heat, then lower it and add everything else, to try and bring out the mustard flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Delicious and simple recipe. I used water because I didn't have broth, but it was still great. It's so nice to take a break from the more common veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This is my first review. I saw that this had no reviews and couldn't understand why after I tried this. Fantastic! Easy! I used regular musturd and all chicken broth since I had no wine. The fennel came out so tender and full of flavor. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States