Fennel and Watercress Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This salad really grew on me. It was a 4 with the first few bites, but by the time I finished, I wanted more. I halved the recipe, and even that made a ton--but the leftovers are just as good. If you have a mandoline, I'd suggest using that to cut the fennel nice and thin so it'll blend better with the salad, or you could use a food processor with the slicer blade. The only change I'd suggest is to add more cranberries and pecans, because they add a lot to the flavor but get somewhat lost with the amount of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was so easy and delicious. Made a weeknight meal feel special. Didn't have radichio on hand so left it out and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is a very delicious salad if you can find some nice fresh fennel and watercress. Try Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is a great base recipe. I too skipped the radiccio and couldn't find any cranberries in the house. So I subbed diced dates for the c-berries, toasted walnuts for the pecans and added onion and goat cheese. I used a mandoline to slice the fennel and onion. For the dressing I added a crushed garlic clove and 2 tsp. of Dijon mustard. I used white wine vinegar instead of the red and balsamic. I took this to work potluck and the only things that were gone were my salad and the pecan pie. I warned people that the watercress tended to strike some as bitter. One person asked what the"white stuff" was and when I told her it was fennel she was surprised since she said she hated fennel. I will use this as a jumping off recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
what a great combination of flavors! This salad is unique and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was excellent! I live by myself so I actually made 1/6 of the recipe. Makes quite a bit for a single gal but I kept the dressing in a jar instead of putting it all on the salad as I knew I'd be eating it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Very delicious salad. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Fabulous! The did not have radicchio, so sadly had to omit. Can not wait to make it again!! I reduced the servings to 5, but the dressing ingredients did not change, so I have tons of leftover dressing. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The combination of flavors are great but I used this recipe as a starting point. I modified it as follows to serve 6: 1 fennel bulb, 2 stalks celery, 1 bag shredded red cabbage, pistachios toasted, fennel seeds toasted, and a little blue cheese tossed in at the end. Rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States