Fennel and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Loved the dressing with the fennel and orange. Very refreshing and a great change to regular tomato cuke salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was a refreshing change for a salad. I added of a sprinkling of pomegranate seeds and substituted baby romaine for arugula. My husband and I are interested in healthy recipes and both enjoyed it. No leftovers! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This is absolutely delicious, and I now make it every week or two! The first time I brought it to work, people thought I had gotten it at a fancy deli. They kept saying, "Wow, it looks beautiful!" They were impressed with the fennel too; a few of them had never seen the bulb before. The flavor was wonderful. I also threw in some dried cranberries, which really added to the presentation. If you really wanted to be fancy, you could throw some toasted chopped pecans on there. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
i just made this for thanksgiving and once the family got passed "what is fennel?" they seemed to really like it. The presentation is phenomenal (i added cranberries as someone suggested) and the colors were great. It was a great, healthy light salad that I'm sure I'll be making alot this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
A yummy, easy and very pretty salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hgrether

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I love fresh fennel, and I really enjoyed this salad! To make it work best, just make sure that you have the freshest fennel and oranges available, since they are essentially the basis of the recipe. The poppy seads are a great touch! The only change that I made was to double the amount of vinegar since the red wine vinegar that I had on hand was relatively mild. This is a wonderful salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Bergquist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
A good change from the usual green salad! I did make a few changes to the recipe: I added sliced red onion, sliced toasted almonds (instead of poppy seeds) and served it over baby spinach (instead of arugula.) I didn’t get as much fennel flavor as I had hoped… but, the salad was still quite tasty. I think I’ll make it again, with a few additional changes. Thanks, Barrett!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu loves to cook!
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I just made this and was impressed. I added dried cranberries per suggestion, and used 1/2 bulb fennel (only white part) plus one carrot, but everything else as written. I put it on a bed of raw kale rather than arugula. The only thing I might think about is whether an herb could tie the flavors together. As is, the flavor was light with the vinegar and juice from the oranges, but I thought it could use something else. Letting it meld for a while before eating might fix this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
We thought this was a nice change. Very summery tasting. Next time I would chop the fennell and oranges into smaller bite size pieces. I made it the night before serving, next time I would make it two nights before. It was much better today for lunch. Less vinegar taseting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States