Fennel and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This salad was good for something different. I grated the fennel bulb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I just made this and was impressed. I added dried cranberries per suggestion, and used 1/2 bulb fennel (only white part) plus one carrot, but everything else as written. I put it on a bed of raw kale rather than arugula. The only thing I might think about is whether an herb could tie the flavors together. As is, the flavor was light with the vinegar and juice from the oranges, but I thought it could use something else. Letting it meld for a while before eating might fix this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was a refreshing change for a salad. I added of a sprinkling of pomegranate seeds and substituted baby romaine for arugula. My husband and I are interested in healthy recipes and both enjoyed it. No leftovers! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Loved the dressing with the fennel and orange. Very refreshing and a great change to regular tomato cuke salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This salad was good but we thought it could use a bit of sweetness. We added pomegranate seeds and drizzled a touch of honey over it and it was superb! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Very good, easy to make - I used two small ruby red grapefruits and really enjoyed it. I liked the mix of the tangy grapefruit and the nuttiness of the arugula, and the flavor of the fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I used tinned mandarin oranges, and I didn't have red wine vinegar (I thought I did when I went to make this), so I substituted cider vinegar. It was the first time I have used fennel and was pleasantly surprised at the mild flavor of it. It was a nice change for a salad, and I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
used butter lettuce instead of arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was the first time I had ever made anything with fennel. The fennel was a bit chewy so I roasted it in some oil and honey. I thought the dish was delicious, but it wasn't as big a hit as I would have thought with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
We thought this was a nice change. Very summery tasting. Next time I would chop the fennell and oranges into smaller bite size pieces. I made it the night before serving, next time I would make it two nights before. It was much better today for lunch. Less vinegar taseting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States