Fennel and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I loved this salad! My family liked it. The salad has a lot of flavor. I made it as a side dish to a quiche. My daughter thought the tastes of the two dishes were too strong, for they didn't compliment. I put two small cans of Mandarin oranges in the salad, which gave it a nice sweet touch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This is absolutely delicious, and I now make it every week or two! The first time I brought it to work, people thought I had gotten it at a fancy deli. They kept saying, "Wow, it looks beautiful!" They were impressed with the fennel too; a few of them had never seen the bulb before. The flavor was wonderful. I also threw in some dried cranberries, which really added to the presentation. If you really wanted to be fancy, you could throw some toasted chopped pecans on there. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I found the fennel flavor to be a bit too overwhelming. My grocer had both large and small fennel bulbs. I used the larger and if I were to make this again I would use a smaller bulb or just use part of a larger bulb. However, the oranges do pair well with the fennel and tone that fennel flavor down. I also used baby spinach instead of arugala. I do not recommend this. Arugala has more flavor than baby spinach. However, this does make for a very pretty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmcminn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This salad is a very nice change from more traditional lettuce salads. Fennel has a mild anise flavor- don't be afraid to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
We thought this was a nice change. Very summery tasting. Next time I would chop the fennell and oranges into smaller bite size pieces. I made it the night before serving, next time I would make it two nights before. It was much better today for lunch. Less vinegar taseting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I used tinned mandarin oranges, and I didn't have red wine vinegar (I thought I did when I went to make this), so I substituted cider vinegar. It was the first time I have used fennel and was pleasantly surprised at the mild flavor of it. It was a nice change for a salad, and I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
i just made this for thanksgiving and once the family got passed "what is fennel?" they seemed to really like it. The presentation is phenomenal (i added cranberries as someone suggested) and the colors were great. It was a great, healthy light salad that I'm sure I'll be making alot this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
used butter lettuce instead of arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Very good, easy to make - I used two small ruby red grapefruits and really enjoyed it. I liked the mix of the tangy grapefruit and the nuttiness of the arugula, and the flavor of the fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States