Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I never knew how much I loved fennel until I tried this soup! It has a delicious, mild flavor; the flavor of the ingredients are really allowed to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicous!! And so easy! The fennel itself makes this seem like a complex blend of subtle flavors. I used chicken broth, pureed the soup, and it made a perfect, creamy comfort food. This will be a regular in my kitchen. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Wow! So wonderful and unexpected! I absolutely love this soup. I made it as a starter for a fancy dinner party, and everyone loved it. The first question was 'what is in this?' It seems most people have never even tried fennel. I made 2 changes. I cubed the fennel since my bulbs were large, and I used half veg broth and half chicken broth. This is one of my absolute favorite soup recipes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseanneM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This could be the easiest 'fancy' recipe ever. Very delicious. Reheats well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very tasty and easy soup! I used olive oil and added some spices but even without these changes I think it would've been good. The taste of fennel is very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Oh, my! I'm pretty sure they serve this soup in heaven, that's how good it is! Per other reviewers, I added some diced potato and pureed the soup before serving. Also, I double the recipe, but kept the butter amount the same and it was still rich and delicious! Finally, instead of the onion powder suggested by some, I sauteed some green onion tops with the fennel instead. This has been added to our Thanksgiving menu for this year, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
So easy and delicious. I get organic fruits/vegs delivered to my door, and my box contained fennel this week. I have never cooked with it before and decided to try this recipe. I only used 1 fennel bulb, and added cubed potato to bulk it up. I pureed some of it so that it had a creamy texture but still contained chunks of fennel and potato. I just ate 3 bowls.....I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Great recipe, but instead of veg broth I used chicken, and while simmering I added a whole unchopped garlic clove. just before serving I added a little chopped shallot as well. Yummy and pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jiffy24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I grew some fennel for the first time and didn't know what to do with it. Tried this recipe since it was quick and easy. I was really surprised how good it was. I used chicken broth and then topped with a few green onion-really good. I might try adding potatoes and other root vegetables in the future, maybe even pureeing everything with cream but the recipe is good just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
i still cant believe how good this recipe is! i boil some chicken and use the chicken broth. its the easiest recipe in the world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creative cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States