Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
So easy and delicious. I get organic fruits/vegs delivered to my door, and my box contained fennel this week. I have never cooked with it before and decided to try this recipe. I only used 1 fennel bulb, and added cubed potato to bulk it up. I pureed some of it so that it had a creamy texture but still contained chunks of fennel and potato. I just ate 3 bowls.....I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This could be the easiest 'fancy' recipe ever. Very delicious. Reheats well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Great recipe, but instead of veg broth I used chicken, and while simmering I added a whole unchopped garlic clove. just before serving I added a little chopped shallot as well. Yummy and pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jiffy24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Oh, my! I'm pretty sure they serve this soup in heaven, that's how good it is! Per other reviewers, I added some diced potato and pureed the soup before serving. Also, I double the recipe, but kept the butter amount the same and it was still rich and delicious! Finally, instead of the onion powder suggested by some, I sauteed some green onion tops with the fennel instead. This has been added to our Thanksgiving menu for this year, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I grew some fennel for the first time and didn't know what to do with it. Tried this recipe since it was quick and easy. I was really surprised how good it was. I used chicken broth and then topped with a few green onion-really good. I might try adding potatoes and other root vegetables in the future, maybe even pureeing everything with cream but the recipe is good just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I never knew how much I loved fennel until I tried this soup! It has a delicious, mild flavor; the flavor of the ingredients are really allowed to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c-biskit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicous!! And so easy! The fennel itself makes this seem like a complex blend of subtle flavors. I used chicken broth, pureed the soup, and it made a perfect, creamy comfort food. This will be a regular in my kitchen. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very tasty and easy soup! I used olive oil and added some spices but even without these changes I think it would've been good. The taste of fennel is very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Wow! So wonderful and unexpected! I absolutely love this soup. I made it as a starter for a fancy dinner party, and everyone loved it. The first question was 'what is in this?' It seems most people have never even tried fennel. I made 2 changes. I cubed the fennel since my bulbs were large, and I used half veg broth and half chicken broth. This is one of my absolute favorite soup recipes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseanneM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
i still cant believe how good this recipe is! i boil some chicken and use the chicken broth. its the easiest recipe in the world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creative cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States